My Reviews (72)

Spaghetti with Chicken Meatballs

Chicken meatballs and spaghetti is a great alternative to beef or pork. Now, I love beef and pork, but I wanted to give my family something different. This is a recipe for five, plus a little extra for leftovers.
Reviews (72)


23 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: isobel
I just made the meatballs and I baked them for about 30 mins ( I think) after first frying them. The meatballs were delish
 
03 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: CookinBug
This produced a really fresh tasting sauce, which I definitely appreciate! I added fresh garlic and mushrooms (sauteed in a bit of olive oil) to the sauce just because those are 2 things that are vital to spaghetti sauce in this house! The sauce was very simple, but *really* tasty. The only thing I had a problem with were the meatballs... I think next time I will cut the seasoning in half as the italian seasoning was overwhelming; it kinda ruined the flavor of the meatballs for me. That being said, the meatballs had the BEST texture and consistency. Thank you very much, CookingDiva!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Maria
First let me say this is a fab website for beginner cooks, I'm new to this site and I've only taken a real interest in cooking for my family 3 years ago when I started staying home full time. Anyway,back to the meatballs not only was it an easy recipe to follow,but the meatballs were really good. You would think my 14 year old was NYC food critic with the way he comments about my food,but he told my husband that he liked these so much he was speechless for once. Great recipe I'm becoming more confident with every meal I cook because if this website.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: prgr2007
This was really good! The sauce was very light and enjoyable. I used the ground chicken in the meatballs and they were fantastic! I did bake them on 350 for about 20 minutes, per the suggestion of another reviewer. I prefer this to browning them in a skillet because it's easier. =) The chicken made such nice meatballs. They were very filling and much better than beef meatballs! The only change I have made (after making this several times, it's such a hit!) was adding sauteed onion, green pepper, and garlic, and putting more seasoning in the sauce. A+!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Kelly
Absolutely fantastic! I am no a cook nor into cooking - just want to make healthy meals my family will eat. I only made the meatballs and used ground turkey rather than chicken simply because that's what I had on hand. I also used Extra Virgin Olive Oil rather than cooking spray in the skillet, works just as well. It was so very easy. I will use this recipe from now on! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Wen-dee
Meatball portion of recipe was great. Sauce needs a lot of other ingredients including onions, garlic, peppers (any colour), oregano and I like mushrooms in my sauce too. I usually add a pinch of brown sugar too...removes the acid from the tomatoes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Tara Para
I loved this recipe. My husband is Italian but gets really bad heartburn from red sauces so he was reluctant to eat this at first, but it didn't give him any heartburn (I did add about 1/4 milk and 1 tbsp. sugar to lessen the acidity). Even my sister who hates pasta and Italian food is asking me on a regular basis to invite her oven again for this dish! The chicken meatballs are amazing...it's like chicken parmesan but in meatball form...so yummy! I prefer this over beef meatballs any day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: SLJ6
Yum!....Love using extra lean ground chicken instead of beef. A few mini changes....I only used 1 lb of ground chicken and I added 2 large cloves of garlic finely minced to the meatball mixture and added pecorino romano cheese and whole wheat Italian style bread crumbs in addition to the egg and seasonings. I also baked my meatballs instead of pan frying which saves fat and calories. Added some dry red wine to the sauce as well. Nice dinner...thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: DIZ♥
I'm torn with this recipe. The meatballs are excellent! I'm starting to cook more with ground chicken and I'm really liking it. Unfortunately, the sauce brings this recipe down. Even with all of the basil, it still tastes like plain tomato sauce from a can. By the time I finished doctoring it up, it beared no resemblance to the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2011
I use ground turkey and up the italian seasonings, garlic, and parm cheese. A high quality parmesan is a must. I test fry a mini meatball before cooking and add seasoning accordingly before shaping the balls. I bake in a 375 oven for about 30 minutes, easier than panfrying. The sauce recipe is great too, although i tweak it. I saute some onions and garlic in basil olive oil before adding canned tomatoes ( i usually buy the garlic and oregano seasoned, the more flavor the better!) and add more seasoning (I use a spicy italian herb grinder) and red pepper flakes (we like it spicy!). I let it simmer for a long time (an hour or so) to let the flavors meld. So good, we make this about once a week, and any leftovers are even better the next day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes