My Reviews (137)

Baked Cheesy Tomatoes

Tomatoes are baked with a topping of mayonnaise, cheese, mustard and oregano. They make a great side dish or meat free appetizer.
Reviews (137)


08 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Jill
I have made these tomatoes for years. Make sure you slice the tomatoes thick and try just broiling them for a few minutes till brown and bubbly rather than baking them. The tomatoes stay firmer and not so mushy as the baked ones. I also always add oregano and omit the mustards. Sometimes I even add a little garlic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
You know, this isn't a complex dish and the preparation is simple and basic. But that doesn't mean it isn't worthy of five stars and in my opinion, this is. What a dressy alternative to just sliced tomatoes! I prepared this with the two mustards just as written and it proved to be a winning combination. The tang of the mustard and Parmesan was the perfect complement for the mellow mozzarella. I used fresh rather than dried oregano as I'm lucky enough to have it in my garden. A quick finish under the broiler browned these up nicely. This is easy, uses quality ingredients, is pretty on the plate and, most important, is full of delicious flavor too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Deb Hughes Cormier
This was really yummy!! The kitchen smelled so good while it was cooking!! The changes I made were as follows: omitted brown mustard, used fresh basil instead of parsely,sprinkled the s&p directly on the tomatoes & I used garlic mayo.I also broiled them for a minute to brown the top.Will deffinately make again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
Wow! These are so tasty! They can be a meal in and of themselves. This is nice because it can work as an appetizer or a side. Quick and easy, but tastes like you spent a long time. I cut back on the mustards - basically using half of each which gave it just the right amount of pizzaz. After they came out of the oven I sprinkled the tops with fresh basil vs. fresh parsley. Great blend of flavors! This is a definite keeper especially with fresh garden tomatoes over the summer months.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2005
I adjusted this recipe a bit towards my tastes but it is a good recipe all by itslef. I added mushrooms, red onion and ricotta cheese because I had them on hand. Instead of putting the tomatoes singly on a baking sheet, I put them in a glass pie plate (sprayed with PAM) and spread the mayo mixture over it to bake. Magnificent!! The ricotta cheese was the best addition, by far!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Honey
definately add some garlic, and don't slice the tomatoes to thin or they will fall apart -- We like about 1/4th to 1/2 inch thick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: JONESING
I was surprised how yummy this simple recipe was when I used it on some overly ripe tomatoes. I added some olive oil & left out the brown mustard (I only had dijon on hand). Next time I would halve the amount of mayo used - was just a little too strong. Thick slices worked well - it didn't end up too watery for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: KOALAGIRL
5 Stars Plus! What a fantastic recipe for summertime, when tomatoes are plentiful. I made this for a casual BBQ yesterday and everyone loved them. I did switch from Bake to Broil at the end to get the mozzarella cheese brown and bubbly. Everyone went back for seconds! Ii will absolutely make this recipe again and again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: neonwings
Wonderful! I omitted the mustard. Used lots of Italian seasongs; basil, oregeno, etc. Got the biggest tomatoes I could find for this recipe (now that is all I buy, they are so good!) Hubby said this is like eating at a gormet restaurant! Thanks Natalie
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: AEMAZA
Easy and fabulous. Must rate this 5 stars as it is easy, with ingredients normally on hand and wonderful. We've made this regularly with the abundant tomatoes from our garden...and even in the winter as it spruces up not so great tomatoes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes