My Reviews (78)

Easy Butter Whole Turkey

Cooking a turkey can seem daunting but this is an easy recipe that cooks the turkey upside-down with extra flavour coming from butter.
Reviews (78)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
CWDUNN2100 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Made this for the in-laws....they were surprised. I didn't use as much butter as the recipe called for....but wow what a difference. I also added a sprinkling of poultry seasonings to the skin....which made it delicious. Also, I rubbed some butter between the skin and the flesh. I have found that really makes a difference. Thanks for helping me to impress my in-laws....appreciate it.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: EMMYRULZ
Cooking the turkey upside down does help keep the meat moist. I like to use a cooking bag too because it cooks faster and seems to retain more juice.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MWINTEROD
This was my first turkey. It turned out great!! So juicy and tender! I stuck little pices of butter between the breast and the skin. It was delicious. My husband cant get enough of it.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: BN61079
I substituted the water with apple juice and it was the best turkey I've ever made. Everyone at the table commented after thier first bite. It just melted in our mouths! I will never cook a turkey right-side-up again! The only complaint I had was that there was no crispy skin, but the meat was great!!
 
21 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: DEZIBUG81
This was my first turkey. It turned out great!! So juicy and tender! I usd aple juice instead of water, and I made a rub of 1 stick melted butter, salt, pepper, rubbed sage, garlic powder, and poultry seasoning. I also stuck little pices of butter between the breast and the skin. It was delicious. My husband cant get enough of it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: MJCNELSON
Cooking the turkey upside down does help keep the meat moist. I like to use a cooking bag too because it cooks faster and seems to retain more juice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: Momof2
Made this for an early Thanksgiving with the in-laws....they were surprised. I didn't use as much butter as the recipe called for....but wow what a difference. I also added a sprinkling of poultry seasonings to the skin....which made it delicious. Also, I rubbed some butter between the skin and the flesh. I have found that really makes a difference. Thanks for helping me to impress my in-laws....appreciate it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: Nicole Jones
Very moist, tender and flavorful. I cooked the turkey upside down until the last hour and then turned it right side up to brown the top. Very good and easy. Although mine did take an extra hour and a half to cook completely.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: Jenn B
I haven't tried this exact method yet, but I'm embarrassed to say that the first time my husband and I had a Thanksgiving Dinner at our house, we accidently cooked our turkey upside down. It turned out so moist that we do it every year now! If' you're careful, you can actually turn the bird over for the last 45 minutes of cooking and get the nice brown skin too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: mbbdirks
This was super. The only thing I changed was to cook in a cooking bag, salt & pepper inside and outside of turkey and stuff butter in between skin and meat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes