My Reviews (254)

Green Tomato Spice Cake

This is a moist, spice-type cake which uses green tomatoes. Sprinkle the finished cake with icing sugar or ice with cream cheese icing.
Reviews (254)


25 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Kath
This is an amazing, yummy and simple cake to make! I have surprised friends and family with this and NO ONE has guessed it has green tomatoes in it :-) The changes I made were 1) use half the amount of sugar 2) replaced butter with oil 3) I don't use walnuts due to allergies, so sprinkled the top of the cake with pumpkin seeds - nice and crunchy. 4) I mixed the tomatoes, oil, sugar, eggs and raisins together, then folded in the sifted the dry ingredients, much easier 5) And preparing the tomatoes, I blended them in the food processor then drained them in a colander, then squeezed any excess liquid out (froze what I didn't use)
 
14 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: emilypos
This Green tomato cake is one of the tastiest moist cakes I've ever made . A great way of using a kg of green tomatoes when was too cold for them to ripen Thanks for this recipe
 
13 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: mellsy
Good way of getting use out of green tomatoes. I did adjust the sugar back a bit and I would not use the salt in the dry ingredient mix as I think plenty of salt taste was still with my tomatoes after rinsing. Thanks for a lovely cake.
 
26 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: f64club
WOW! Great cake! The only change I made was to puree the green tomatoes (skins, seeds, everything) drain for 30 minutes and use 2 cups of the puree rather than 4 cups of diced tomatoes. This one is definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: BIZNO
I used 1/2 cup applesauce in place of butter. The cake was delicious, especially with a dollop of vanilla fat free yogurt on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: LIBERTYWV
This is a fantastic recipe. I love it. I did do two things wrong and it still was amazing. I put only two cups of green tomatoes, and secondly I was forgot to skin the green tomatoes and just diced them up really small. The green tomatoes actually are not like red tomatoes and the skins did not come off and were not chewy. In fact I really couldn't tell you where the pulp began and the skin started. Thank you so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Jill R.
This a really good, moist cake--but I made a couple of alterations based on what other reviewers suggested. In my opinion, the best way to handle the tomatoes is to dice them and remove the seeds, then put them in a food processor--pulse until they are in small pieces but not liquified. Then I followed the recipe (put them in a colander, salt, rinse; let them drain). I also suggest cutting the nutmeg back to half a teaspoon. I also added an extra egg since I am at a high altitude (over 5,000 ft.) I like the cake with a cream cheese icing, but my husband likes it plain. One kind of funny thing about this cake is that it tastes better than it smells or looks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Daniel den Hoed
This recipe was surprisingly very good, and it used up many of my green tomatoes easily. I made a few changes to the recipe, using splenda instead of sugar and nut flour instead of regular flour. I also used a cream cheese frosting which tasted wonderful as another reviewer suggested. The only thing I would advise is to be sure to cut the tomatoes into small pieces. I cut mine into average sized pieces and they could easily be seen and looked strange in the dish. Next time I will be sure to cut them small!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: ICKYSBEANS
Easy and lots of fun at any big gathering! I took this cake to our local garden club meeting(they all have LOTS of green tomatoes at summers end!) It's an easy to throw together cake(I didn't salt or drain the chopped tomatoes...too lazy, and my Roma's aren't very juicy to start with). I topped it off with a cream cheese frosting, so whats not to like?. I'm sure you can play around with lots of spices to your own taste. I think I'll be making this cake quite often during the next couple of weeks while the garden winds down. Might even try a chocolate version? Give it try, if for no other reason than to use up some of those many green tomatoes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: CZARDAS
Unbelievabley moist. Didn't need to peel tomatoes so save yourself some work. I didn't have raisins but had sultana's and added some chopped apricots. Cream cheese frosting finished it off perfectly. Took into work and everyone loved it. Will make again next year when I have more green tomatoes. Thanks Glenda
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes