My Reviews (174)

Broccoli with Almonds and Lemon Butter

Looking to dress up your broccoli side dish? Try this great recipe that dresses the broccoli in lemon butter and flaked almonds.
Reviews (174)


10 May 2003
Reviewed by: MOLLE888
I made this to accompany strip steaks and Garden Stuffed Baked Potatoes (from this site). Like others suggested, I toasted the almond slices and used less lemon (no zest but I squeezed half a lemon). The end result was phenomenal. The almonds gave the broccoli a woodsy flavor and a nice crunch. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: LILYP
Wonderful, I'll probably do this every time. I toasted the almonds on a pan and crumbled them, omitted the lemon zest and used juice from 1/2 a lemon. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
Lightly seasoned with lemon, the absence of garlic was a refreshing change, and I resisted the urge to add it. I measured nothing, just added butter, lemon juice and toasted sliced almonds to accomodate my taste - and skipped the lemon zest altogether. I think it would have been lemon overkill otherwise. To preserve their crunch I added the toasted almonds just before serving, which also proved to be a pretty garnish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Aajewelry
The theory's nice, but this one is way, WAY too lemony. It covered the rest of the flavors up completely. With a lot less lemon this would be excellent.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: ROODE
Excellent. Quick, easy, and tasty. I think I will toast the almond slivers next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: KEI8HT
A good way to make steamed broccoli a little more than just steamed broccoli but I definitely agree with other reviewers in that the butter-lemon ratio was off. This was more like Broccoli with buttery lemon sauce.. I did add the almonds but come to think of it... didn't really notice them at all. It was a tad sour, but I did like it when it just lightly covered the broccoli, the rest of my family ate it, but didn't enjoy it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Lucky Noodles
A little less lemon juice, toast the almonds and it is 5 stars! Don't overcook the broccoli.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: TRIPTAKERS
Yay! Finally a way to prepare broccoli that makes me actually WANT to eat it! The lemon makes it taste so summery, it was great with seafood & rice. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Grass is greener
Great with fish. We loved it. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2005
Reviewed by: DANCERDEDE
Although this made a change from plain, steamed broccoli, I don't think I'll try this recipe again. It had way too much lemon flavor (my sister wouldn't even eat it because she thought it was too sour) and not enough almond flavor. Maybe if you added less lemon and a tiny bit of almond extract it might taste better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes