My Reviews (423)

Iced Lemon Curd Cake

This is a great cake to make at Easter or any special time. It includes a lemon curd recipe but you can use pre-made. If you do make the lemon curd yourself, allow three hours for it to set.
Reviews (423)


03 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: RaewyneCollins
absolutely yum
 
16 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: ELIIZABETH
This is a great cake. The only adjustments I would make is to the frosting. I added yellow coloring to the icing. I would increase the frosting to allow for extra to pipe onto the cake to decorate it. A "crumb layer" is helpful when frosting this cake. Frost the cake very lightly and pay no attention to all the crumbs that will fall off the cake and mingle in the frosting. Refrigerate the cake for about a half an hour to let the icing firm up and then remove the cake and finish frosting the cake.....this way the crumbs stay in the first layer and will not ruin the look of the finished cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: DLSPENCER
I've made this recipe a number of times and I always get rave reviews!! I have changed it a little: I have increased the filling ingredients by one-half and I've changed the cake by reducting the milk to 3/4 cup and adding 1/4 cup lemon juice. I love how lemony it is!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2007
Reviewed by: Amanda
For someone that loves lemon everything, I found this recipe to be nothing short of exceptional! The flavor was so intense! Because I was in a hurry over the Memorial Day weekend I used a white cake mix but used 2 egg whites and 1 whole egg instead of only the 3 egg whites that the box recipe calls for. I also used store-bought lemon curd. I did make the included recipe for the lemon buttercream frosting, which was out of this world! I will definitely make this cake again and again. Everyone raved over it, and I was bummed that there were no leftovers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Mrs_Mike
After reading reviews that many thought this cake was to dense, I substituted cake flour for all purpose flour. As a result, I didn't find this cake to be dense at all. It's also very important to not overmix the batter! Thos two tips should ensure a super light and moist cake. The filling and icing on this cake just couldn't be beat!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: WINK7619
I'm sure this recipe is delicious as written, but I used it for inspiration and here's what I did instead. I used a box lemon cake mix to make two 8 inch round cakes. Left one cake in tact and cut the other in half for a three layer cake. The uncut cake on the bottom, with lemon curd (purchased) spread over it. Then topped with the second layer of cake, and put a whipped topping & lemon pudding mixute on it.(3 oz pkg instant lemon pudding - prepared. Let it set up for five minutes, then blend about 1/2 container of whipped topping into it.) Then placed the top cake layer on and frosted everything using the lemon cream cheese frosting from this site. Plenty of frosting to add decorative piping. I had people who were completely stuffed from a large meal coming back for seconds of cake! It was fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Rika E.
this cake was very good. I Did make a few changes when I made it though. For the cake I added Lemon pudding filling and Lemon extract so that The cake itself would have a Lemon extract. My other change was that I used Lemon extract where ever the recipe called for vanilla extract. I also doubled the cake mix so that I was able to fill my pans a little more so that when I cut the layers in half it would be thick enough for the cut. I would suggest to double up on the icing as well. The original recipe makes just enough, but if you are like me and wish to have enough icing to fully cover the cake like I wanted to, then a double batch would be good. I did have a problem with the way that the filling tasted. To me I could still taste the yolk of the eggs, and I didn't like that , so the next time I would prefer buying a Lemon filling for that part of the cake. I will make this cake again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: lynsey
First, I hate it when people change everything and then rate the recipe either high or low when it is not deserved! Some five star examples were: use a store bought white cake and jared lemon curd and then a five star rating. You are not rating this cake and doing someone counting on the reviews a true dis-service. The frosting turned out really good but that was it for me. The cake was too dense and the filling was, I can't believe I am saying this, too lemony. I love lemon and was excited about this cake. This was a cake for a baby shower and I was disapointed and I don't think anyone ate their whole piece. I may try again as the reviews are so high but so many people changed it so dramatically that I don't know if I will.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2006
Reviewed by: MeganM
I wish I would've read the whole recipie before cooking, I didn't give myself enough time to make it, but let me say, it was the best cake I've ever tasted! Absolutely divine! Everyone loved it and I now have it in my "special occasions" folder, if you have the time, I would suggest this one hundred times over!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Dawn Aiono
I 11/2 times the recipe and made it in 9" pans. I had plenty of filling and just enough frosting. Next time I will pipe frosting around the inside edge of the layers with filling. I began with makeing the filling and letting it cool while I baked the cake. I did substitute 1/3 cup of the milk for lemon juice. I will try more next time. I love lemon and this cake totally took care of my craving. A really wonderful cake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes