My Reviews (49)

Easy Banana Sorbet

This recipe is great for hot summer afternoons or a cold dessert. For one cup of mashed bananas, you will need about 3 small bananas.
Reviews (49)


07 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: DessertFreak999
it was soooo good!! my friend and i made it and we loved it!!! I would make it again, but im too lazy to go buy more bananas...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: chefsazy
My family won't eat bananas once they are two hours past ripe! So, I've been looking for recipes that call for ripe bananas. This tasted pretty good, but I wouldn't call it sorbet. It did not have the lightness that comes with sorbet. It was more like frozen sweetened mashed bananas. I did cut back to 3/4 cup sugar based upon others' recommendations. So, it didn't taste too sweet. But, we all concluded that we'd rather just eat a banana, or even a frozen banana. Perhaps it would be more sorbet like if you let chunks of banana flavor the syrup, then strain out half of the banana before mixing and freezing? Sorry. I really wanted to like this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: brewstersmama
NEEDS just a little work, Knowing it would be too sweet from everyone else's input, I chose to start with a little over 1 cup of crushed ice in the blender, 4 sliced up bananas on top of that,pour over a cup of the cooled simple syrup. Blend thoroughly and pour into a gallon freezer ziplok bag. freeeze but pull the bag out every 20 minutes or so to palpate the bag and make sure the mixture stays pliable. You can put it in the blender and reblend after it is frozen. It stays bright and yellow and tasted really good
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: CN
I double the amt of banana and add a couple spoonfulls of OJ to keep it yellow. I make this early in the morning and hand-mix it with a fork every few hours so I don't have to deal with an electric mixer. If ya really want a sugar rush, add some caramel sauce ontop, so good! :D
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 May 2010
Reviewed by: WIOSNA
Talk about easy! I used only half the sugar as many had suggested. To make things a little quicker, I put a 1/2 cup sugar in the microwave with just enough water to make it disolve. I then added ice cubes and let it melt until I had 1 cup of the mixture. For those who complained about the browness. You get out what you put in. I cut out the couple of brown spots in the banana before mashing them. My sorbet was not brown at all!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: Melissa Goff
Sometimes, I really should look at the reviews 1st. But alas, I normally don't the 1st time out. The recipe seemed pretty easy with the 1:1:1 ratio and I totally needed to use up 4 cups of bananas. Following the recipe to a T with the correct ratio being multiplied to a 4:4:4 ratio, I was disappointed. It was way way to sugary. It was like frozen syrup even after waiting over 12 hours to scoop and serve. The sugar needs to be cut down to half to get the suttle flavor of the pure banana. As is, the recipe was so sweet it tasted like banana flavored Laffy Taffy....I'll try again with tweaks but won't be adding that much sugar again. Sorry for the poor review.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Nina
This was great! You could use less sugar if you would like.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Dairy Free 4 B
Well I decided to give the original ingredients a try since I do like extreme sweets. I couldn't take the sweetness though - WAY too sweet in my opinion. After I finished the recipe I pulled it out and added more water (1/2 cup) and mixed well. I put it back in the freezer to set. It still came out too sweet. Maybe I will give it another try as others have by using less sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: scoket
I liked this recipe. It was easy to make but tasted very sweet. That could have been because I added rasberries instead of bananas. But that's the beauty of it, you can add any fruit and it will still taste just as good. A very good recipe, I just hope the swetetness was the fault of the raspberries and not the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
04 Aug 2018
Reviewed by: James Jarome
Great recipe. I used 5 very ripe bananas then froze the mixture overnight. The next morning I added about 1/2 cup of peanut butter, mixed in the combination, then returned to the freezer. Very tasty flavor combination.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes