My Reviews (30)

Bread Machine Sugar-Free Wholemeal Loaf

Wholesome wholemeal bread with no added sugar, low salt and low fat too!
Reviews (30)


Comment:
08 Oct 2008
LAUGHTRACT said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Ok, this bread does not rise well, but it doesn't matter because the bread was delicious and it was perfect and uniform throughout in height, perfect for easy slicing and to use for sandwhich bread. What I do is mix my sugar and yeast in the beginning with the liquids and let it sit for awhile 'til it's frothy. In this case it was the milk and the yeast in the beginning, then flour (which bread flour would be better, or you could add some baking powder), then salt (salt kills yeast so I add it last). Others complained about it being dry so I upped the oil (I used olive oil) to 5 tbsp. This is ok since olive oil is a very healthy type of fat and it's beneficial as it balances out the simple carbs. My bread had the most wonderful texture and it was so moist and delicious that I ate it plain. I tweaked the recipe some as to avoid the problems others experienced. I'm glad I did since I needed a dietetic bread recipe for my father in law. I'm going to use it for myself as well.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Jessica
Very basic ingredients so it was easy to make. It was very tasty & I will surely make this again! However, instead of using plain flour I used bread flour. Also, one 7g package of yeast converts to 2-1/4 tsp. yeast if you use yeast from a jar.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: DDB
Excellent bread and very healthy for you.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: MISH224
this was ok as i did not have a back up. served it with baked beans. good thing as it needed to have something to make it moist. this not raise much at all. will not make again
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: MS.NATALIA
Good bread... Makes a nice dense loaf with a good texture.
 
07 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: FLORIDAMOM1
Very basic ingredients so it was easy to make. It was very tasty & I will surely make this again! However, instead of using all-purpose flour I used bread flour. Also, one 1/4-oz package of active dry yeast converts to 2-1/4 tsp. active dry yeast if you use yeast from a jar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: N. Twedell
Ok, this bread does not rise well, but it doesn't matter because the bread was delicious and it was perfect and uniform throughout in height, perfect for easy slicing and to use for sandwhich bread. What I do is mix my sugar and yeast in the beginning with the liquids and let it sit for awhile 'til it's frothy. In this case it was the milk and the yeast in the beginning(you could add the water to the milk and heat 'til about 105 degrees), then flour(which bread flour would be better, or you could add some baking powder), then salt(salt kills yeast so I add it last). Others complained about it being dry so I upped the oil (I used olive oil) to 1/3 c. This is ok since olive oil is a very healthy type of fat and it's beneficial as it balances out the simple carbs. My bread had the most wonderful texture and it was so moist and delicious that I ate it plain. I tweaked the recipe some as to avoid the problems others experienced. I'm glad I did since I needed a dietetic bread recipe for my father in law. I'm going to use it for myself as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
19 Aug 2011
OldBat said:
This is described as a wholemeal loaf, but it calls for 150g wholemeal flour and 250g "plain" flour. Assuming that "plain" means white, that means it's a brown loaf. It may be the most delicious bread in the world, but it isn't wholemeal. I'm looking for wholemeal bread recipes, not white bread recipes with a token spot of wholemeal flour thrown in.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
09 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: granny bird
this was ok as i did not have a back up. served it with baked beans. good thing as it needed to have something to make it moist. this not raise much at all. will not make again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
26 Dec 2010
Used different ingredients. I made this recipe a little easier today with the following ingredients: 7g Sachet of fast acting yeast :: 250ml warm water :: 2 tablespoons of skimmed milk powder :: 1/2 teaspoon lo-salt :: 250g Plain Four :: 150g Whole meal strong flour :: 1 tablespoon of Olive Oil. Throw it all on the bread maker on a program for basic white bread, 1.5 lb. Set to lightest brown. Press start. Worked really well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes