My Reviews (44)

Braised Celery Side Dish

A great way to serve celery as a side dish to meats - braised in chicken stock until just tender. Delicious.
Reviews (44)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
CURTISA1127 said:
Used different ingredients. excellent! I usually find the taste of celery too outspoken. This recipe makes an excellent side dish of celery with a very smooth flavour. I added some lemon juice to it which made it even better. I often serve this with fish.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: HALFFINGR
One day while I was cutting up some celery for my kids snack I realized that no one ever serves celery cooked for a side dish. I was curious and began looking for a recipe to try and was lucky enough to discover this one. I made it for my husband and me to go with our dinner that night and it was WONDERFUL. The celery was so tender and flavourful even my husband RAVED about it (and I was a little leary serving it to him to begin with). I know the thought of braised celery doesn't sound very exciting, but try it when you are in the mood for something different! It's delicous. I wish there were more than 5 stars!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: NJSS2000
This recipe was easy, and an especially helpful as a side dish for those on those low-carb diets! It tastes much like celery out of chicken soup, which is, of course, expected and always delicious!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: CHANTELERENEE
The only fresh vegetable I had was celery so right before dinner time I did a search and came up with this one. I am so happy I tried it! My husband and I have had it twice in the past week and both really enjoy it.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: GERMAICAN
This was excellent! I am not a huge celery fan so I wasn't sure about making this, but my husband is on Atkin's so I thought I would give it a try. The celery came out so soft and flavourful! Even my 20 month old loved it. Great, easy recipe.
 
22 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Monica Schenk
This side dish was easy to make and flavorful, the only thing I suggest is to completely omit the salt since the chicken broth already contain plenty of sodium. Mine came to salty because of that(and I used very little salt).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Donna
One day while I was cutting up some celery for my kids snack I realized that no one ever serves celery cooked for a side dish. I was curious and began looking for a recipe to try and was lucky enough to discover this one. I made it for my husband and me to go with our dinner that night and it was WONDERFUL. The celery was so tender and flavorful even my husband RAVED about it (and I was a little leary serving it to him to begin with). I know the thought of braised celery doesn't sound very exciting, but try it when you are in the mood for something different! It's delicous. I wish there were more than 5 stars!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: VICKY9999
excellent! I usually find the taste of celery too outspoken. This recipe makes an excellent side dish of celery with a very smooth flavor. I added some lemon juice to it which made it even better. I often serve this with fish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Cookiemnstr
I really only tried this recipe because I had a bunch of celery left over after making soup. I was pleasantly surprised. It's nothing exciting but it's a nice, light & mild side dish to go with a meal, esp. of a spicier meat. I would definitely make this again. * I did sprinkle a little parmesan cheese over it before serving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2003
Reviewed by: NOX
The only fresh vegetable I had was celery so right before dinner time I did a search and came up with this one. I am so happy I tried it! My husband and I have had it twice in the past week and both really enjoy it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes