My Reviews (778)

Banana Slice with Cream Cheese Icing

These are a big hit with my workmates and friends. Very moist and easy to make. If you like banana cake, you'll love this slice.
Reviews (778)


25 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: neecey75
This is a great recipe and definately worth making my friends, husband & his workmates loved it is so delicious......
 
29 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: tracer2
such a good recipie! I doubled it, and 1 1/2'ed the icing ... so yum. Lovely and soft and moist with a great taste. mine came out deeper like a cake rather than a slice, glad i had baking paper to hold it in. everyone wanted more - i had to hide it. will be a popular and regular choice in my kitchen.
 
25 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Renatalikes2cook
Really good and surprisingly light - made it with regular cream and a dash of vinegar (no sour cream on hand.) Made it with tangy lemon icing - didn't have any cream cheese.
 
25 Feb 2018
Reviewed by: FredaCook
Love this recipe - very moist & versatile & delicious! First time I made it I used Coconut Yoghurt - didn't have sour cream and worked out perfectly fine. Also cut the sugar down to 250 grams & used Wholemeal flour instead of plain flour. Makes a heap, I can get 20 pieces out of this recipe made in a large slice pan. Left out the butter from the icing and replaced vanilla essence with fresh lemon juice.
 
24 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: CherylFarrell
I made it for a work morning tea and some people had seconds and thirds! I will make again as everyone commented how nice it was.
 
06 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: Barbm21
This is a great recipe - I make it all the time for friends family and work mates. They all love it!!!!
 
22 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: MEGNERD
I really like these! I made a few changes, though. I remembered reading somewhere that you can cut almost half of the sugar out of any recipe without affecting the end product. So I cut the sugar down to 1 cup. I also used fat-free plain yogurt instead of the sour cream. I don't have a 10x15 pan so I used a 9x13 and cooked it for 30 min. I got a nice, moist cake-like bar. I also frosted it with a Chocolate Peanut Butter frosting made of 2C powdered sugar, 2T cocoa, 4T milk, 2T peanut butter, and 1/2t vanilla. I really enjoyed these for a way to use up ripe bananas besides the standard banana bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: chubss
I have never made these bars without someone asking for the recipe. Just use 2-3 lg. very ripened bananas and you will have plenty of flavor. Please don't put store bought frosting on them. There is a recipe on this site for Whipped Cream Cream Cheese frosting that is a superb complement to these bars. ENJOY! Bring copies with you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Laura Jean
My only complaint is that I can't give this recipe 6 stars! These are wun-der-ful! It's so great making a 'bar' recipe the comes out of the pan perfectly and makes a great presentation. I served them chilled because my sister has a similar recipe and for some reason it really brings out the banana flavor. I only used two really dark bananas but you could really taste the flavor; I added some cinnamon, too. For such a simple recipe it really does make a ton - an entire jelly roll pan... WOW! I made a softer frosting of one block cream cheese, 2 cups of powdered sugar, tsp vanilla and some milk to thin it out ever so slightly. Stop searching for recipes... turn off your computer & go make these. They are really delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: LillysMom
I made this as a bundt cake just because I got mixed up with another recipe I was considering. I cooked it for 40 at 375. It was light, moist and delicious. Not too sweet either. For the record, a cup of bananas is equal to about 2 good sized bananas mashed up. And if they seem not ripe enough, break them up and nuke it for about 12 seconds on high until you can easily mash them up with a fork.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes