My Reviews (23)

Beetroot and Dark Chocolate Cake

This is a really moist and chocolatey cake. Simple to make. The kids didn't even realise it had beetroot in the first time I made it. Decorate by dusting with icing sugar or it is delicious served warm with custard.
Reviews (23)


17 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: chorazy
I made this over the weekend but changed the ingrediant's a little and added 1 cup roughly chopped walnuts and 1/2 cup dark choc chips (about 150g) which I thought were nice editions (especially the walnuts). Altered quantities were as follows 100g cocoa 350g self-raising flour 200g caster sugar 200g dark chocolate 125g unsalted butter 350g cooked beetroot, grated 3 large eggs I baked it for 1hr 10mins in 2 x loaf tins and it turned out nicely. You're right that it's delicious served warm with custard! And I love that you get that chocolate hit followed by a rich earthiness from the beetroot then a second chocolate hit at the end. Definitely makes for an interesting twist on a chocolate cake and sounds super impressive to your in laws!
 
Comment:
07 Oct 2011
lolli_d said:
I've made it again (as I loved it) but stuck it cupcake tins! Makes 16 small - medium cupcakes. Checked them at 25mins in my fan forced oven at 180 degrees, and they needed 5 extra mins. Totally cheated by using Aunt Betty's Choc frosting on top - but was a total success!!
 
31 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: lolli_d
Really delicious. It took me 1 hour and ten mins in a fan forced oven - I just checked it every 10 mins from 50, and was perfect (I also cooked it in a loaf tin which may have contributed to this). Keep an eye on her. The beetroot adds a fabulous moistness - without any earthy-ness that I so often associate with cooked beetroot.
 
19 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Azadeh.A
I had decided to bake my own birthday cake. I chose this one because the reviews were postive. Tonight is my third time I'm baking the cake and tomorrow is my birthday. It is yummy and easy to make. But 3 out of 3 times that I baked it, it's top rises in two levels. there is a middle part which rises and makes it like an upside down mushroom, I don't know why that happens. Maybe its because of my baking tin or the temperature? The good thing about the cake is that id doesn't smell like egg. It is moist. Tonight I was too excited, and instead of checking after 50 mins, I have been checking from 30 mins and thinking why is it still uncooked in the middle?! (too nervous, because I've promised the cake to people that I haven't seen before) In the preparation, cooking the beetroot takes the most time.
 
02 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: teganrundle
I made this the other day and brought it to work. It was a HUGE hit! I loved it. Soo moist and tastey. I will def be making this again!
 
22 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: periena
This is such a great cake and I used GF flour cocoa instead of drinking chocolate. My husband loves it I love it and it is so moist and has an earthy taste.. Yummy. Tks.
 
Comment:
11 Sep 2009
duf said:
The ingredients need to be put on, only method there!!
 
Comment:
14 Dec 2010
Phillida said:
I had this cake at The Flying Nun in Brisbane. Fabulous. I will now try and make it. You can read my review here: http://mycupoftea-mybrew.blogspot.com/2010/12/op-shops-and-chocolate-cake.html
 
25 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: JulieWitbooi
I had lots of beets in our veggie garden so I thought I would give this a try. I've never had much success baking cakes but this turned out perfect, delicious and moist
 
09 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: BethanyJohnston
This is a really moist cake. I used cacao (half the amount) instead of drinking chocolate as I didn't have any and it was quite bitter even though I added extra sugar. I could taste the betroot too - an earthy taste. I might put some milk chocolate frosting on top to balance it out
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes