My Reviews (59)

Black Bean Pasta with Spinach

Whole wheat pasta with a nutritious sauce of spinach, broccoli and tomato and tinned black beans. You can use other beans if you can't find black.
Reviews (59)


06 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: purestarlove
Very filling. Nice family meal. I added tomato puree with the tomatoes, as suggested by another reviewer. Came out a lovely consistancy as was flavourful. I will make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
08 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: kenyanchef
Good quick meal
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: Gusti Lind
I didn't have all the ingredients, so I changed a lot. I sauteed one diced yellow onion and one diced jalepeno before adding 1 1/2 cups Arborrio rice. Didn't have broth, so used 3 cups of water, slowly added. Had a can of black beans, and thought a can of corn would go well too. No fresh tomatoes, so a can of diced Italian stewed tomatoes and 3 cups of chopped fresh steamed broccoli went in. Added a teaspoon of cumin, 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder (as no garlic), and salted to taste. Didn't have Parmesan, so topped it with feta. Pretty close, or not, but very very good. I'll be eating it for days though...made too much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: asw2133
I read through all the reviews before making it.. Someone said to add Oregano and Basil seasoning, along with red pepper flakes, a can of diced tomatoes, and I also added a pkg of italian sausages after i baked them in the oven.. I cut them into 1 inch bite size portions and added it.. Of course this took all the healthy out of it.. but this was really good! We had plenty left over after my family of 4 ate.. This will be dinner again tonight.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: Cindy
This was okay, but nothing special. Quick, simple, healthy. Nothing special.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: ltlmsmfft
I gave this four stars; but, that is only based on changes to the recipe and its really more like 3 1/2 stars. It's still missing something. I used 2 chopped tomatoes and 2 cups fresh broccoli. I sautéed the onion and garlic in 1tbs of olive oil. I added 1/2 tsp salt, pepper, cumin and oregano. I reduced the cayane to 1/4 tsp. The end result was, the sauce was flavorful, but missing something. It was also a bit too watery. Next time I will follow other reviewers tips and thicken with some corn starch. I might try adding some lime juice, chili powder and roasted red peppers. Maybe some lime zest? This recipe is almost a great one with the revisions, so I will definitely make it again and tweak it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: schasel
I'm trying to cook more vegetarian dishes for both health and environmental concerns. It is difficult to find good ones and this was surprisingly very tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: CasiK
I have used this recipe a few times. It's very good and healthful (minus the parmesan). I would recomend this to anyone. Oh, and it's high in fiber. What more could you ask for?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Fit&Healthy Mom
Sorry, to me this recipe was just ok nothing special. Served with whole wheat penne.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: momcat63
Very satisfying and healthy but I had to tweak it a bit. I still may tweak it the next time I make it as I feel it needs some extra seasonings. First of all, I followed another readers advice and sauteed the onion, garlic and spinach first. I used 3 cloves but I think it could use more. Spinach really cooks down so if you like spinach, use a lot of it. I used 3/4 lb and it shrunk to almost nothing. I used fresh brocolli crowns (3 bunches) and some roma tomatoes from my garden. My husband and I devoured this dish, it does make a lot and I just had leftovers for lunch! He thought maybe next time I should use chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth and to add some italian seasonings as it was a bit bland. But overall, an excellent recipe and extremely filling!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes