My Reviews (59)

Black Bean Pasta with Spinach

Whole wheat pasta with a nutritious sauce of spinach, broccoli and tomato and tinned black beans. You can use other beans if you can't find black.
Reviews (59)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Beverly said:
Used different ingredients. I did this differently but it was really good. I used 250g pasta, aout 1/2 cup chicken stock, and also halved the spinach (used frozen), but I kept the entire can of black beans, used a whole head of broccoli, and used a medium can of spicy diced tomatoes in place of the fresh chopped tomato. I also added some crushed red capsicumin addition to the other seasonings. We really liked this as a main dish.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Leemm said:
Used different ingredients. I did as another reviewer suggested and added oregano and chilli powder and upped the cayene. Great flavour. Will definitely make this again, thanks for the great recipe!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
LOUIE75 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This was really delicious. Even my roomate, who is a meat-and-potatoes person, loved it. The flavours blended so well... I am DEFINITELY making this agian. I used frozen spinach, chicken stock, and extra garlic. I also forgot to add the tomatoes (oops!), and it was still excellent.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: GINNYG
It's not haute cuisine, but it's easy, healthy, and tastes good. I enjoyed the little bit of heat the cayenne added, but those with small children or wimpy boyfriends might want to cut the amount a bit. Also, the recipe might make 8 servings if it is used as a side dish, but it will serve less (maybe 4 servings) if used as a main.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: PHOENICIAJ
Turns out watery and not very flavourful.
 
13 May 2003
Reviewed by: Linda T
This was excellent. I increased the amount of broccoli, spinach,. onion and tomatoes.... just because I like them. I also added some cumin along with the cayenne. After cooking, I thickened the sauce with a little cornstarch. This is a very fast one dish healthy meal. When I reheated leftovers, I stirred in a couple of tablespoon of fat free cream cheese.. delish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: bellydancer
I was very skeptical of this recipe, but I had spinach and broccoli that needed using up so I gave it a try. It was amazingly delicious! The only change I had to make was chicken broth rather than vegetable broth. I have tried this with vegetable broth, the chicken broth definitely gives it better flavor. I also would recommend using two garlic cloves. You could easily add more of the vegetables, as they cook down quite a bit, or just halve the amount of noodles used. I would definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Staci
I liked this alot. You feel like you are eating as healthy as you really are. I did add some chili powder, some extra cumin, and crushed red pepper flakes. Also, since the vegetable broth is already heavy in sodium, I used Mrs Dash instead of the salt. Add to make this meal more robust, I added chicken sausage. I sauteed them with the garlic and oil and let them cook along with the vegetables. It was a nice compliment to the dish. My husband really liked it, and I will be making this one again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: A Cook
It's not haute cuisine, but it's easy, healthy, and tastes good. I enjoyed the little bit of heat the cayenne added, but those with small children or wimpy boyfriends might want to cut the amount a bit. Also, the recipe might make 8 servings if it is used as a side dish, but it will serve less (maybe 4 servings) if used as a main.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: ROSEGRABOWSKI
This was really delicious. Even my roomate, who is a meat-and-potatoes person, loved it. The flavors blended so well... I am DEFINITELY making this agian. I used frozen spinach, chicken broth, and extra garlic. I also forgot to add the tomatoes (oops!), and it was still excellent.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes