My Reviews (57)

Bean and Brown Rice Salad

This is a light and healthy salad or side dish. If you can't find black beans, kidney beans work equally well.
Reviews (57)


Comment:
08 Oct 2008
MRJZAREND said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I really enjoyed this recipe. However, I didn't see the point in all that liquid to cook the rice. I think a ratio of 1 part rice 2 part liquid is just fine. I reduced the amount of lemon juice. Tommorrow, I will add fresh corriander to it and see how that is.
 
05 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: Lorraine1962
So easy and tasty, I am not a fan of brown rice, but this was good, will make again and again.
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
GLYNNES said:
Used different ingredients. This is tasty, nutritious, and filling - the food trifecta in my book. I left out the chillies since I don't care for that taste and added a couple of stalks of celery to the onion saute. I also found that it didn't need salt. It was delicious as-is.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: JEJUNE
Very flavourful. It includes many ingredients that taste great together. We really enjoyed this dish and found that it made enough for 10 people as a side dish. My daughter said that it would be great to take to her school picnic. You could even add cubed, cooked chicken to it to make it an easy, complete meal.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: C.EDYTHE
I love it.........I am a vegetarian & have had lots of difficulties finding recipes I like....This one is perfect
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: BRYANBROWN
For me the rice cooked up too wet even though I used less olive oil. I think I would cut back on the lemon juice.
 
26 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: SARGON
This is tasty, nutritious, and filling - the food trifecta in my book. I drained the beans and corn, since I was working with fully-cooked (non-instant) brown rice. I left out the jalapenos since I don't care for that taste and added a couple of stalks of celery to the onion saute. I also found that it didn't need salt. It was delicious as-is, as well as sprinkled with Frank's Red Hot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: UmmOmar
I really enjoyed this recipe. However, I didn't see the point in all that liquid to cook the rice. I think a ratio of 1 part rice 2 part liquid is just fine. I reduced the amount of lemon juice to less than 1/2 cup. Tommorrow, I will add fresh cilantro to it and see how that is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: MOMMYMEL77
I've tried a similar recipe without the rice, but thought I'd try this one. I didn't use the juice from either the beans or the corn (as I used frozen corn), but just followed the directions for the rice. I also used fresh cilantro. This recipe has an amazing flavor! It's a favorite!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: POOKEYFACE
Very flavorful. It includes many ingredients that taste great together. We really enjoyed this dish and found that it made enough for 10 people as a side dish. My daughter said that it would be great to take to her school picnic. You could even add cubed, cooked chicken to it to make it an easy, complete meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes