My Reviews (1,003)

Couscous and Black Bean Salad

Couscous is beautifully flavoured in this recipe with chicken stock, cumin and coriander then packed with healthy ingredients like black beans, corn and capsicum.
Reviews (1003)


Comment:
18 Aug 2010
Allrecipes said:
Try Metro Grocery at Marrickville Metro or online at http://www.montereyfoods.com.au/cart.php
 
Comment:
16 Aug 2010
Annalie said:
Where in Sydney can I find black beans?
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
KATANAROGUE said:
Used different ingredients. Fabulous salad. Can't have enough of it. I used Taboulleh and chopped green capsicum and it was fantastic.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Used different ingredients. This is great! I've been looking for the perfect couscous recipe and now I've found it. The dressing alone is a keeper--I plan on using it for everyday salad as well. I didn't add black beans, but instead went with some diced English cucumber, kalamata olives, bits of crumbled feta, marinated red peppers and Italian flat-leaf parsley. I thought three green onions were more than enough. Next time I think I'll add some grilled chicken strips and call it a meal. This is a great recipe!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Navy_Mommy said:
Used different ingredients. Yum, yum. I have made this several times so far and everyone always compliments it. It is easy, healthy and keeps well in the fridge. Best of all: you can make soooo many substitutions. Basically put in any legume you like. I like using one can of Lima beans and another can of black beans the most. And for the coriander I have so far substitued dried dill (I daresay better than the original...but i love dill in all things) and fresh parsely (but then it becomes very much like tabouleh).However, the dressing is NOT enough and I always at least double everything in the dressing mixture except for the olive oil.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
REGALLA said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This is such an amazing recipe. I did double the dressing and I doubled the cumin in the dressing along with adding a dash of balsamic vinegar to cut a small oil taste. I stirred all of the dry ingredients together, made the dressing in a separate bowl and added it at the end to make sure it was okay to use all of it. It was! This is a great recipe, so colourful and wonderfully tasty. My husband has to increase his fibre so I have been looking at different things to add to our diet that are healthy and high in fibre. He liked this so much he took it to work for breakfast instead of his standard bagel. I will keep this in the fridge on a regular basis. I can hardly wait to grill chicken breast marinated in Italian dressing to have on the side. A complete meal and easy, easy. Thanks so much for my new favourite recipe!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
GATERJEN said:
Used different ingredients. VERY GOOD!!! I added cucumber, tomato, white onion and instead of couscous i used bulgar(IT WAS GREAT) I love this salad and i will make it ALOT!!!
 
29 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: JULIEK2
This is a great, healthy and delicious salad. But use care to RINSE your black beans well, or else you may end up with GRAY couscous, which is not all that appetizing-looking... Thanks for a really nice recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: ANOOSHKA
Yum, yum. I have made this several times so far and everyone always compliments it. It is easy, healthy and keeps well in the fridge. Best of all: you can make soooo many substitutions. Basically put in any legume you like. I like using one can of Lima beans and another can of black beans the most. And for the coriander/cilantro I have so far substitued dried dill (I daresay better than the original...but i love dill in all things) and fresh parsely (but then it becomes very much like tabouleh).However, the dressing is NOT enough and I always at least double everything in the dressing mixture except for the olive oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: SAMMARTI
This is great! I've been looking for the perfect couscous recipe and now I've found it. The dressing alone is a keeper--I plan on using it for everyday salad as well. I didn't add black beans, but instead went with some diced English cucumber, kalamata olives, bits of crumbled feta, marinated red peppers and Italian flat-leaf parsley. I thought three green onions were more than enough. Next time I think I'll add some grilled chicken strips and call it a meal. This is a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes