My Reviews (31)

Soft Centre Pavlova

A crunchy meringue outside with a fluffly centre make the perfect combination. Top with fresh fruit and whipped cream.
Reviews (31)


08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: SHOOSH
For the pavlovas that turned out flat, you need to mould the meringue before you cook it into the shape you want. What works best for me is to have the walls of the circular meringue mound at least 1/3 higher than the middle. This way you can add whipped cream, strawberries, blueberries etc. Also, the cake will flatten out during cooking so mould it higher rather than wider before baking. Also, watch oven temperatures. Pavlovas need to be cooled slowly so I've found the best way is to turn the oven down bit by bit and then off. Then start to open the oven door bit by bit until it has cooled sufficiently. There will be less shrinkage this way. Also add more egg whites if you want a larger cake to work with.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: LOUV
Malt vinegar is the traditional vinegar used. This is the one recipe I do not hand mix. Out with the electric beater as it needs a good 10-15 minutes. If there is any yolk in the mix you will end up with pavlova pancake. Break all eggs separately and carefully. No stomping around the kitchen and no opening the oven door to check what is inside...otherwise pavlova pancake! If you don't have suitable fresh fruit, grated chocolate is also a good decoration.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: April
My mum made Pavalova while I was growing up. I saw this recipe and thought I would try it out. It's softer than my mums (which I liked). It was hard on the outside and marshmallowy in the middle. I put whipped cream, kiwifruit and bananas on it. It was excellent specially if you have some sweet teeth!
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: BIZZYSMOM
wonderful dish
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: BSELBY2227
Delicious and beautiful. I did spread it out some before baking,and I topped it with lemon butter, strawberries and kiwifruit. Perfect!!!
 
09 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: jmojico
I added coconut to the cream...great original recipe from Oceania! thanks
 
23 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: andiw
Great recipe, turned out perfect with soft centre. I piled my pavlova recipe up on the baking dish as the recipe advised and it didnt move too much. I think less sugar could be used by those who are not such big sweet tooths and i will try that next time.
 
23 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: DONNASCH
Some tips for those cooks who did not grow up downunder... Malt vinegar is the traditional vinegar used. This is the one recipe I do not hand mix. Out with the electric beater as it needs a good 10-15 minutes. If there is any yolk in the mix you will end up with pavlova pancake. Break all eggs separately and carefully. No stomping around the kitchen and no opening the oven door to check what is inside...otherwise pavlova pancake! If you don't have suitable fresh fruit, grated chocolate is also a good decoration.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: AUSSIEMUM1
For the pavlovas that turned out flat, you need to mould the meringue before you cook it into the shape you want. What works best for me is to have the walls of the circular meringue mound at least 1/3 higher than the middle. This way you can add whipped cream, strawberries, blueberries etc. Also, the cake will flatten out during cooking so mould it higher rather than wider before baking. Also, watch oven temperatures. Pavlovas need to be cooled slowly so I've found the best way is to turn the oven down bit by bit and then off. Then start to open the oven door bit by bit until it has cooled sufficiently. There will be less shrinkage this way. Also add more egg whites if you want a larger cake to work with.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: SHHARTUNG
My mom is from Australia and made Pavalova while I was growing up. I saw this recipe and thought I would try it out. It's softer than my moms (which I liked). It was hard on the outside and marshmallowy in the middle. I put whipped cream, kiwis and bananas on it. It was an excellent dessert. Especially if you have some sweet teeth!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes