My Reviews (11)

Potato and Leek Soup

It's the best potato and leek soup I've ever had. A modification of a recipe I first tried at my dear friend Sonja's house.
Reviews (11)


29 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Dewsons
Excellent quick and easy recipe for a wholesome evening soup the whole family and one that can be complemented with a light dinner afterwards.
 
13 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Tamfam
This a great recipe! Really easy to make and so delicious - we only used 1 and 1/2 litres of chicken stock and that was more than enough for us
 
16 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: GinaRodgers
very nice..I used lite evaporated milk as didn't have cream and it still tasted lovely, also omitted the celery and added chopped chives on top.
 
17 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: lib01
Absolutely delicious. We love it and I make it regularly through winter.
 
05 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Kevin45
I left out some of the potato and replaced with some sweet potato and half a medium parsnip. It was superb..
 
10 May 2014
Reviewed by: GeoffPeet
Great - the family loved it!
 
15 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: Renee77
Yum Yum Yum!!!!!! I made this a few weeks ago and ate the whole lot for work lunches, even on warm days! I made another batch this week but omitted the celery and added cauliflower instead.. Yum!!! Thanks for sharing!
 
20 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: byronjj
I love this recipe easy to make I used flat leaf parsley and added some nutmeg at the last minute great taste.
 
19 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: freddieskitchen
Didn't put any celery because i am not a fan of its after taste, but added some herbes de Provence, and it was delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
11 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: maggieroze
This soup was easy to make and tasted excellent. I followed the recipe, basically, with a few additions/changes. I notice that while it says to cook the onion, there isn't butter listed in the ingredients. I used about 2T to cook (but not brown) the onions, leeks, and celery. I had broccoli to use up, so added a head of broccoli, chopped. Because of that, I increased the stock, probably adding about another litre or so. Once the potatoes and broccoli were in the pan, I just added stock so they were covered. I cooked for 15-20 minutes as directed. I added some bacon I had leftover too. I used a potato masher after the potatoes were cooked and added double cream as called for. I used more though because of adding broccoli, bacon and more stock. The soup was fantastic. I really liked the addition of broccoli and the bacon added to the flavour as well. I will make this again and highly recommend this recipe. I received rave reviews and yet it was so easy. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes