My Reviews (28)

Cheese football

Cheese dip shaped like a football! You can try it using different flavourings too.
Reviews (28)


11 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Mary
I was torn between a four or a five for this recipe. I opted to give it a four because I felt that several important factors were missing from the recipe as written. The taco seasoning should be held until the end to add the nice football color. If you look at the photo that I submitted, you will see the pasty color under the sprinkled taco areas on my "ball." I was afraid to sprinkle too much on top of it because of other reviewers who complained of the taco seasoning's over-powering taste. This would have been much more presentable had I used the taco seasoning to color the ball instead of mixing it in with the cheese. Also, the taste was SO much better the following day after spending some quality time in the fridge. I will make this again, but I will make it at least a day ahead of time and I will sprinkle the taco seasoning on at the end to give it a nice "football" color. The color of it as written is terrible, but my hopes are high for a better next time. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2009
Reviewed by: ShanaDurdin
This was delicious!! I ended up having to make 2 over the weekend. The only thing I did different was added more green onions since my friends and I are all lovers of them. I had to give this recipe out 3 different times. It was simple because I had all ingredients on hand. I will be making this cheese ball over and over again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: LisaMarie
I followed the recipe exactly and agree that the taco seasoning was overpowering. The second time, I cut the seasoning from 6 tsp to 4 tsp and used a heaping cup of cheddar. I also added more Worcestershire sauce because my first football was albino! It was much better the second time, and I got compliments for presentation at a work potluck.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: kat3028
The football shape was ideal for super bowl. I didn't use the taco seasning but maybe next time I will try it. Instead of using nuts to cover the ball I crumbled bacon so it would be a "pigskin cheese ball."
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: KellyP
Good taste and good idea. I am not the best at making a ball of cheese look like a football I have found. I attempte the crumbles bacon for the outer layer but that was going to take a TON of bacon and I didn't have much on hand. I tried leaving the taco seasoning on the outside, but if you plan to wrap the ball up and tote it anywhere, the seasoning either sinks into the cheese or gets stuck on the plastic wrap and you have a really strange colored football. My advice: bring the taco seasoning with you and sprinkle it on once you get to yur destination. The cheese slices for laces turned out well. Despite the appearance of MY football, half of it was gone by the end of the game so that earns it 4 stars. Had all of it been eaten like most appetizers I bring, it would have recieved 5.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: scubagirl
This was a fun addition to our tailgate the other day. Next time, though, I will not use so much taco seasoning and will add more cheddar cheese. It was very good, though, and everyone seemed to enjoy it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: AMYRICHARDSON25
this was totally my error. The taco spice is to color the football only. Sorry for any lackluster cheese balls because of my flaky directions!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: pamortiz
Very simple to make and the shape of a football was a terrific idea. My husband and I both love spicey foods, so the amount of taco seasoning was fine for us. I added my own touches, however. I prefer Colby/Monterey Jack cheese to cheddar. Then I rolled the ball in bacon bits for a bit more flavor. Finally, I placed it on a bed of parsley to give it a football field look. Turned out great! I will definitely use this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Val Timin
this tastes sooo good! i'm about to bring it to a superbowl party and i'm very excited. however, i wouldn't mix in too much taco seasoning, but save it for last: just shape your mix into the football, and then put taco seasoning all over it for color.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Ashley Steele
I love the idea, but it was a little too heavy on the taco seasoning for my tastes, and not enough shredded cheese. I think this would be good for a Mexican themed tailgate though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes