My Reviews (8)

Yummy French Onion Potato Bake

One of our families favourites, passed down from my step Mum to me. Always served at BBQ's and get togethers. I always try different cheeses for the top... My favourite is tasty cheese and then a sprinkling of parmesan for a bit of bite... Instead of sour cream I've also tried thickened cream and cream cheese, which were both just as nice.
Reviews (8)


Comment:
12 Mar 2010
Serlon said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I found that my French Onion Soup Mix was 6 months out of date and rock solid, so, having already opened the sour cream, I added a generous helping of Herb and Garlic Seasoning and a bit of cornflour for thickening. I didn't have enough potatoes so I used slices of Kent Pumpkin, potato and onion rings. Worked out delicious
 
Comment:
27 Dec 2009
Verena said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Added a bit more sour cream, alternated layers of potato with orange kumara/sweet potato and cooked for 20 minutes longer than suggested. Next time I will probably double the amount of sour cream.
 
27 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Verena
Made this dish to go with a bbq last night. Thought there wasn't going to be enough sour cream, so added about another 1/2 a cup and it turned out great. Followed a suggestion and put a layer of onions at the bottom and alternated potato with orange kumara/sweet potato. Was a hit with family and friends. Had to add another 20 minutes in the oven even though potatoes had been sliced very finely with a mandolin. Will definitely make again.
 
Comment:
01 Oct 2009
dysaniac said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Try halving the amount of French Onion Soup mix. I also add a layer of sliced onion rings (this is best as the bottom layer so it cooks properly). You'll love it.
 
01 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: AliceC
Don't underestimate the power of the french onion soup mix!:-) It works well with this dish ( I did add bacon as well as suggested) and my mum loved it.
 
28 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: cmpsuess
I followed the recipe exactly and found it to be a bit dry and bland. Might try more sour cream and extra vegies for taste next time
 
12 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Serlon
Was quick and easy to make. Will do it again when the family come for dinner as it was enjoyed by the whole family from 3 years old and up
 
12 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: Justapinch
I really enjoyed this. I only altered slightly adding 1/3 cup of milk, salt, pepper and extra cheese. Delicious ! Thanks for the recipe
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes