My Reviews (32)

Lobster Stuffed Beef

A truly special occasion dish, this version of surf and turf has a beef fillet stuffed with whole lobster tails and baked with lemon, wine and garlic.
Reviews (32)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
RueBarbe said:
Used different ingredients. This was very tasty with adaptations made to suit the ingredients I had on hand. I used filet mignon and fake crabmeat and low fat marg. Baked at same temp for about 25 min. We enjoyed this a lot.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SarahT said:
Something else. I was able to make this recipe work for a dinner party by making the following changes: cook the loin in 220C degree oven for 25 minutes, then stuff the lobster in the last 5-7 minutes, doucing with lots of butter to keep the lobster moist and keep a close eye on it to make sure it is not over done. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I also made a pan sauce of the drippings and the garlic butter to pour over the tenderloins. Garnished with lemon slices and served with roasted red potatoes and a spinach salad.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: foxtrot47
Warning!... if you love lobster, this recipe is NOT for you. I was SO disappointed in this recipe, and consider it one of the worst recipes I've ever tried. The taste of the lobster is completely lost in this dish, and the tenderloin is overcooked. Considering the cost of preparing this dish, you'll be MUCH better off cooking them separately to each guest's specifications!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: KB
This is one of those recipes that everyone either loves or hates. I agree that the taste of the lobster is lost in the cooking here. I wasted a very expensive large tail for this recipe. Yet, it does make for a great presentation, so in the future I will make it again but use some sort of "fake" lobster for the stuffing. I also feel the cooking times are much too long for my desired medium-rare. Since all ovens are different, use the suggested oven temp setting but use a high quality meat thermumeter to closely monitor.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JYHICKS
Recipe was great, maybe people should try to make the recipe the way it was written.
 
11 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: KRISTI
Warning!... if you love lobster, this recipe is NOT for you. I was SO disappointed in this recipe, and consider it one of the worst recipes I've ever tried. The taste of the lobster is completely lost in this dish, and the tenderloin is overcooked. Considering the cost of preparing this dish, you'll be MUCH better off cooking them separately to each guest's specifications!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2006
Reviewed by: VORCHA
I was able to make this recipe work for a dinner party by making the following changes: cook the tenderloin in 425 degree oven for 25 minutes, then stuff the lobster in the last 5-7 minutes, doucing with lots of butter to keep the lobster moist and keep a close eye on it to make sure it is not over done. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I also made a pan sauce of the drippings and the garlic butter to pour over the tenderloins. Garnished with lemon slices and served with roasted red potatoes and a spinach salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: CSANDST1
This was very tasty with adaptations made to suit the ingredients I had on hand. I used filet mignon and fake crabmeat and low fat marg. Baked at same temp for about 25 min. We enjoyed this a lot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: GUYCHEF
This is one of those recipes that everyone either loves or hates. I agree that the taste of the lobster is lost in the cooking here. I wasted a very expensive large tail for this recipe. Yet, it does make for a great presentation, so in the future I will make it again but use some sort of "fake" lobster for the stuffing. I also feel the cooking times are much too long for my desired medium-rare. Since all ovens are different, use the suggested oven temp setting but use a high quality meat thermometer to closely monitor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: Snow likes to cook
This was great. Used the render juices and made a sauce. Was outstanding. Had it for Valentines. Cut temp down to 350 for about 50 min. was tender, moist and delicious. Also added shrimp along with the lobster.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes