My Reviews (16)

Winter Walnut and Beef Stew

Perfect for a cold night this stew has a flavoursone mix of beed, capsicum, onion, mushrooms and walnuts. Serve with rice, mashed potato or crusty bread.
Reviews (16)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
TARDSPASM said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This is a great variation of beef stew. The walnuts add a little crunch, the flavour is fabulous and the meat was so tender. I thought the amount of mushrooms and walnuts seemed like a lot, so I used less, but I'm sure it's great either way. I would also recommend at least a 1/2 tsp. of pepper.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: CPGLASS
Really great flavour. That's a LOT of meat though.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Sara
We did not care for this. Too many walnuts gave it an off flavour.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: SWK18
This recipe is WONDERFUL! The peppers may disintegrate (I made it twice...red peppers pretty much melted, green peppers held shape) but it doesn't change the great flavour of the recipe! 2lbs of chuck steak does not seem excessive to me (as noted by another reviewer) considering the recipe is for EIGHT servings.
 
21 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: JENAYRE
This is a great variation of beef stew. The walnuts add a little crunch, the flavor is fabulous and the meat was so tender. I thought the amount of mushrooms and walnuts seemed like a lot, so I used less, but I'm sure it's great either way. I would also recommend at least a 1/2 tsp. of pepper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Mrs. Newman
This recipe is WONDERFUL! The peppers may disintegrate (I made it twice...red peppers pretty much melted, green peppers held shape) but it doesn't change the great flavor of the recipe! 2lbs of chuck steak does not seem excessive to me (as noted by another reviewer) considering the recipe is for EIGHT servings.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Pheobe Alverson
Really great flavor. That's a LOT of meat though in ratio to the other ingredients. So, 8 servings or 2 servings... this is A LOT of meat -- really less like a stew that I would eat straight out, and more like an entree that should be served over rice or something (to level out the meat overdose!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: BARNKITTY
This was just okay. It lacked flavor and the walnuts didn't really add anything; wasn't crazy about the texture either. Definitely could have used more veggies to be considered a "stew" in our house.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: sandy
We did not care for this. Too many walnuts gave it an off flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: vkrn
Great stew for a cold night. I substituted canned stewed tomatoes for the tomato juice and cut the walnut pieces small after roasting them slightly. After tucking into it, I realized that it would have been even more delicious if I had added a touch of red wine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes