My Reviews (25)

Barley Beef Soup

This is my favourite thing to do with leftover roast beef. It's amazing something so simple is so good. It will thicken as it sits.
Reviews (25)


16 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: Paula Y.
I didn't have beef broth so I used water, 2 beef bouillon cubes and a packet of dry onion soup mix. I only used about a cup of barley because a whole bag seemed like way too much. I also added 3 cloves of finely minced garlic, 2 diced carrots and a 2 ribs celery diced. It came out great. As it thickened I just added more water and the soup was very flavorful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: CNCONDUCTOR41
I found this recipe excellent, I added 2 cups of diced carrots,1 cup diced celery, 1 onion diced,one yellow pepper diced and about 4 cups of beef diced,2 liters of Campbells beef broth and added 2 cups of barley. as it thickended I added some water, I also added 1 teaspone of minced garlic along with fresh ground pepper
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Ms. Carly
My husband gives it 5 stars, but I didn't find it as tasty so it averages to 4 stars. It's even better if you follow the suggestions below of adding the veggies and only ONE cup of barley. For those that like a healthier option, be sure to use natural/organic broth as most brands contain MSG.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: DKBURN
Good base, added some veggies, onion, carrots, but was still a little bland for my taste, decided to try a little trick I noticed at resturant and add a little soy sauce, OMG it went from a 3 stars to 5, just make sure to use low sodium broth. It gives a rich color and adds more body to the soup. Try it you'll love it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: WAGS5206
Very easy. I followed the recommendation to use 1c barley and added vegies. We used left over sirlon we had done on the grill. It was excellent!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Lovingmama
Easy to make. Next time I will put more meat and less barley. Better the 2nd day, but needed more broth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Ron
Very simple and very tasty. Had some cooked striploin that I cut up small and added to this soup. Highly recommended whenever you have left-over cooked beef.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Kelly Spanach
This was a great base. I added carrots, celery, onion,2 cloves of garlic, a bay leaf, and a pack of onion soup mix. As it thickened it turned nice and creamy. I made it at night to let it sit overnight until we gobble it up today!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: BARCLAY1
This recipe was so easy. I've made it many times since. We love it and its healthy too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
24 Jul 2008
STACIIII said:
Used different ingredients. I didn't have beef stock so I used water, 2 beef stock cubes and a packet of dried onion soup mix. I also added 3 cloves of finely minced garlic, 2 diced carrots and a 2 stalks celery diced. It came out great. As it thickened I just added more water and the soup was very flavourful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes