My Reviews (32)

Banana and Vanilla Tea Cake

Use black bananas. In fact, if they turn black, put bananas into freezers to keep for when you're ready to prepare. Once defrosted they will be pulp like and mix into cake batter much more easily giving you a cooked consistency like mud cake. Sometimes requires a little extra time in the oven. Don't panic - just keep testing with a tester and take out when ready. Can be iced with a chocolate ganache. Is delicious once cooled but the flavour really kicks in after 24 hours.
Reviews (32)


Comment:
26 Dec 2010
crgreef said:
Made it more kid friendly. I used 100g of sugar instead of 185g and it was still as sweet as can be. Better for the kiddies and the grownups. Great recipe!
 
Comment:
08 Nov 2010
Shamini said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I added about twice the amount of vanilla esscence and it still was really nice!
 
Comment:
11 Jun 2009
RaewynL said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Made it dairy free so use margarine and soy milk...worked just fine!
 
08 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Shamini
I love it!!! It is a great way to get rid of old bananas! It is so moist.
 
06 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: becs400
I stumbled across this recipe when my son asked to make a cake and I only had 125g butter in my fridge. This is so much nicer than the banana bread I usually make and really quick. It was so moist and tasty. This will now be one of our staple cakes in our household. Thanks
 
30 May 2009
Reviewed by: Linda
Thumbs up! Followed the recipe exactly and found it a delicious way to use up those old 'nanas in the freezer. If you'd rather see the gram measurements in a cup format they are: 1/2 cup butter, 3/4 cup sugar, 1/2 cup milk and 1 3/4 cup SR flour.
 
27 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: weepengho
it's absolutely delicious, i reduced the sugar to 45g instead and still great.
 
23 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: sa67
Made this once as listed - beautiful. Then I doubled the recipe, chucked all ingredients in the mixer together - did not follow steps - to make 2 cakes & forgot to add the milk! Turned out fantastic. No dryness, cakes were moist and tasty. What a surprise for me!
 
13 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: faithyx
This is such an awesome Banana cake recipe. So moist and lovely. Best one I have used, and probably will be my only recipe from now on. Thanks for sharing
 
26 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: crgreef
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes