My Reviews (120)

Homemade Bread without Kneading

For best results the water should be pretty hot as should be the place where you put the dough to rise. The top of the fridge is a good place, or in the oven on very very low.
Reviews (120)


Comment:
14 Jul 2008
ILOVEBVC said:
Used different ingredients. Wonderful! This bread turned out great. It was a snap to make and it tastes great too! I used olive oil and honey in place of the butter and sugar. I heated my oven a bit, then turned the oven off and let it rise in there for the first rising. Then I sat it on top of the stove to rise in the tin while the oven heated. It rose very well, it's just flatter on top than kneaded bread, but all yeast batter breads are like that. I have a bread knife and the loaf hardly had crumbs at all while cutting. It sliced very nicely. Next I will try it with a little wholemeal flour.
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
KRPINT said:
Used different ingredients. I had to try this recipe. The first time it tasted great coming out of the oven but it was VERY HEAVY! I tried again the second time and it came out perfectly. As other people have mentioned it is important that the water is very hot. This is an easy recipe when you want a no hassle homemade bread. It is great with soups and stew although I don't think I would try it as sandwich bread since the consistency is a little bit different than a kneaded bread recipe. The only changes I made was to use olive oil instead of butter the second time and I mixed it by hand.
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
AILEENL said:
Used different ingredients. Easiest yeast bread recipe I've ever made with excellent results. I also made a cinnamon bread by increasing the sugar by 5 tbsp. After the first rise I sprinkled a mixture of 4 tbsp sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon over the top then gently folded it in to make swirls of cinnamon. YUM!
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: LISAKP71
This is a kind of weird recipe. It's not really a batter, and the mixing doesn't really work because it's dough, and the spoon just kind of knocks the lump around. It doesn't really taste like anything in particular, and the texture is odd. It is much easier than kneaded dough, but for me it was too much effort for a strange result.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: DKARST
This is basically the same recipe from my grandmother and is my favourite fall bread. Makes the most wonderful toast and is great with stews because it is so dense. Even people who can't cook should try this because it is so easy.
 
03 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: KRPINT
I had to try this recipe 2. The first time it tasted great coming out of the oven but it was VERY HEAVY! I tried again the second time and it came out perfect. As other people have mentioned it is important that the water is very hot. This is an easy recipe when you want a little hassle homemade bread. It is great with soups and stew although I don't think I would try it as sandwich bread since the consistency is a little bit different than a kneaded bread recipe. The only changes I made was to use olive oil instead of shortening the second time and I mixed it by hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: AILEENL
Easiest yeast bread recipe I've ever made with excellent results. I also made a cinnamon bread by increasing the suger to 1/3 cup. After the first rise I sprinkled a mixture of 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon over the top then gently folded it in to make swirls of cinnamon. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: DKARST
This is basically the same recipe from my grandmother and is my favorite fall bread. Makes the most wonderful toast and is great with stews because it is so dense. Even people who can't cook should try this because it is so easy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Lisa Scott Provost
This is a kind of weird recipe. It's not really a batter, and the mixing doesn't really work because it's dough, and the spoon just kind of knocks the lump around. It doesn't really taste like anything in particular, and the texture is odd. It is much easier than kneaded dough, but for me it was too much effort for an iffy result.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: ILOVEBVC
Wonderful! This bread turned out great. It was a snap to make and it tastes great too! I used olive oil and honey in place of the shortening and sugar. I heated my oven a bit, then turned the oven off and let it rise in there for the first rising. Then I sat it on top of the stove to rise in the pan while the oven heated up. It rose very well, it's just flatter on top than kneaded bread, but all yeast batter breads are like that. I did use an 8" pan instead of a 9". I have a bread knife and the loaf hardly had crumbs at all while cutting. It sliced up very nicely. Next I will try it with a little wheat flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes