My Reviews (194)

Chicken Meatballs with Thai Spices

Coriander, chilli, lemon and spring onions add delicious spice to these chicken meatballs. Great finger food for a party.
Reviews (194)


Comment:
15 Apr 2009
harryw said:
Used different ingredients. Left out coriander & used parsley & thyme
 
26 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: kwonnocott
These were great...i think i made them a little bigger than the recipe called for...so they took a little longer to cook through...make sure you don't have the oil/pan too hot! Or they'll burn
 
01 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Kaytee
Easy as but I did a healthier version by cooking them in my steamer till firm
 
Comment:
26 Nov 2010
kwonnocott said:
Used different ingredients. I didn't have any lemon juice, i added a little of my pear cider! LOL, but i guess most other kinds of liquid may achieve a similar goal...
 
01 May 2012
Reviewed by: molly_js
Great, I modified this one with another one on this site and halved recipe, didn't have sweet chilli sauce and forgot lemon juice, so used McDs sweet n sour sauce in the fridge and added an egg. I made a Tomato sauce base with 2 tins crushed some tomato sauce and paprika. Browned meat balls and then put them in the sauce and simmered for 30mins. Then served on Spaghetti and grated cheese, great for kids.
 
01 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: jensenly
Very good appetizer. I made a few modifications, though. I couldn't find thai red chile sauce, so I subsituted a honey-teriyaki. I also added crushed red pepper to spice it up. Also, instead of balls, I formed an oblonged type shaped. Once cooked (in an 400 degree oven rather than frying), I inserted wooden skewers for easy handling. Try drizzling extra sauce over the skewers once plated and set a bowl of sauce on the side for dipping. A big hit at the New Years Eve party I attended this year. Thanks Vivian!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: SARAHNEVILLE
Made this recipe for a Girls Night Out and had at least 5 people ask for the recipe. Used ground turkey, added minced garlic and ginger, used panko bread crumbs and also an egg white so it would stay together...everything else just as the recipe states! DELICIOUS!! (I also browned them in a saute pan and then baked them on a cookie sheet for 15 min at 350 degrees so they would all be ready at once)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: mayorchooch
I like to buy ground chicken but don't have many ideas or recipes for it, so this was a great find -- I did make some modifications for my family and our taste.....I used Panko Bread crumbs, fresh basil instead of cilantro -but not a cup--added garlic, ginger, green curry paste, and dried lemon grass, I have a spice blend called Bangkok seasoning (bought at Penzey's spices)and spinkled that liberally in the mix. Made a glaze with pan drippings, soy sauce and more chili sauce -- WOW-- These turned out great! Thanks so much for a great meal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: RONNASTEFAN
Very delicious - made a few changes. I live in Thailand, so bought a standard herb/spice pack with the onion, ginger, limes (no real "lemons" here in Thailand, just imported - so limes give it more of a real Thai taste), chilies, and lemon grass. Followed the recipe as-is, but grated a bit of the Thai ginger in, added one crushed clove of garlic, and about 1/2 tsp salt. I let the mixture sit over night, with 2 stalks of lemon grass stuck in for the flavour. Pull out the lemon grass before making into meat balls. I also baked, as per other reviews. Delicious. My Thai friends loved them. Served with the left over sweet chili sauce to dip in, as cocktail meatballs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Sola
I used 1.25 pounds of ground turkey, and subbed dried onions and dried cilantro. Instead of frying these, I baked them in the oven for about 25 minutes at 400 degrees. We ate it with brown rice that had the thai chili sauce mixed into it as well, along with some dried parsley and a few dashes of light soy sauce. Overall, this was delicious and would also make a good meatloaf with sweet and sour sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes