My Reviews (11)

Eggless Date Loaf

A modified recipe from a yummy original that my mum made me all through my childhood. The original I might as well also post. This recipe is great for those allergic to eggs but I like it mainly because it's so rich and moist!
Reviews (11)


Comment:
13 Mar 2010
CrazyCat said:
Used different ingredients. Added 1 packet of glazed ginger, didn't bother chopping before adding to mixture.
 
Comment:
13 Mar 2010
CrazyCat said:
Took shortcuts. Instead of chopping up the dates, I purchased a 200g packet of chopped up dates. This took about 5 minutes off the preparation time.
 
09 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: Amygnz99
Yum! Super easy and egg-free toddler loves it too I decreased sugar to 1/2C and its plenty sweet enough and add about an extra 1/4C water to make the batter moist enough, was a bit dry first time I made it Found it only takes about 30mins to bake, the 2hour timeframe for total cook is wrong I can bust it out within an hour
 
13 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: CrazyCat
 
20 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: courtney
I think I must have cook the dates longer than reccomended, because when I mixed the wet and dry the result was more a 'dough' than something you could 'pour' in to the tin. BUT, it was super tasty!!! I used this as an afternoon tea in a childcare centre and it was a hit. I'd definately make it again, it would be really nice with some butter and a cup of tea.
 
01 May 2013
Reviewed by: cett
if anyone is looking for a "cakey" loaf, this is not for you. as a bread, this is absolutely fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly and the result was what I was looking for. next time, I would add a little orange zest to bring out more flavor and perhaps a few drops of vanilla ... just personal preference, it is delicious as it is. UPDATE: I made this again today for lunchboxes and threw in a vanilla flavoured tea bag while the date mixture was simmering...boiled it for 5mins only with the lid on the pan to keep the flavours in. it was EVEN BETTER than before! I also added a little water to the batter as it looked a tad dry. this is a gem of a recipe as you can modify it any way you like.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
23 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: amandabelle
I have made this a couple of times using dates already coated with sugar. Lovely and moist with no need for butter! I did find that I had to keep adding more water in the final stage to get a nice wet batter. Much better than maltloaf!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
28 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: JosieL
I used fresh dates with this recipe (currently in the Middle East with gorgeous fresh dates in abundance) and it turned out really well. So lovely and moist and really sweet. Followed the recipe exactly, just needed to take out of the oven a little sooner that stated - expect this was my oven though. A definite winner for my family and I'll be making this many more times
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
15 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: TrishaSmith
Brilliant little recipe as is & can be tweaked for personal preferences very easily. Definitely not 'cakey'. Tried by a couple of friends who initially stated they didn't like dates but love this bread. My only big tweak is to add a pinch of salt. This is a keeper: simple, economic, few easy to obtain ingredients, no fancy gadgets & a great result. What more can you ask for?
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
27 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: gennyt
Used half dates half prunes - lovely and moist, ready in 50 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes