My Reviews (58)

Easter Bread (Armenian Choereg)

This is a slightly sweet bread traditionally made at Easter. It's lovely if you can buy it but not hard to make yourself. Mahleb spice sharpens the sweet a bit.
Reviews (58)


08 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Suzie
Ani, God Bless you for sharing this coveted recipe! I lost my grandmother's recipe for choereg No doubt I was thrilled to find this, which turned out as good as I remember grandma's. I had to use about 8 cups of flour for this recipe, and instead of the butter/margarine combo, I used all butter and the result was superb! Thanks again for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Michelle Rudd
This recipe was wonderful and easy to follow. I used all butter instead of half butter and half margarine. My husband requested I make this as his grandmother is Armenian and many of his Aunts make it in smaller loaves than this recipe calls for to hold their boiled eggs in on the Easter table. As he requested it a bit late I did an online search and found this. My husband said it tasted just like he remembered. As the recipe says, DO NOT omit the Mahleb! It may be hard to find but it does make the recipe perfect. Also, using the same braiding technique mentioned on smaller sections of dough and connecting the ends to form a small circle produces a lovely "egg cup." when you do this the same cooking time applies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: CYBERGIFTS
Thank you bunches for sharing your mother's recipe. I'm sure she won't be upset once she learns that it has received so many stars ; ) WHERE TO PURCHASE MAHLEB: you can purchase it on-line by going to The Spice House. (Ani is registered with them.) TIPS by D McM from Toronto: Use mahleb in similar quantity to how you use nutmeg in any bread or pastry recipe. Mahleb does wonders when added to the dough of shortbread, pound cake, pie crusts and waffles.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: tsaneto
You can replace the mahleb with 2 tbsp. freshly ground orange peel and decorate the top after brushing with egg with whole almonds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Norman L Jones Sr
Ani's mother would probabably kill her for divulging the formula... my grandmother never wrote them out! This is a great recipe. Only problem was the dough was too soupy, I had to add about 1 to 2 cups of flour (to the halved recipe) Norm Grandparents were the Azadians, Syracuse, NY
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Julina
Added about 2 extra cups of flour, otherwise perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Leisa D
I have not made this particular recipe. However, I spent an entire weekend trying to duplicate my grandmother's recipe which of course was not written down. I found several recipes...this one being close if not dead on to the base recipe that I used. (Some from the internet, one from the St. James Armenian Church recipe book (Richmond, VA). After a couple of close encounters, I remembered that my grandmother used evaporated milk. When I substituted evaporated milk for whole milk, it tasted identical to my grandmother's. My grandmother would put M&M's, colored sugar, and gummy candies on top of the bread (likely for us!). We loved the way that it smelled in the kitchen. She made it at Christmas as well as Easter. Oh, how I miss her cooking--both the smell and taste of it! These also make WONDERFUL dinner rolls that your guests will love. So, don't relegate them to the holidays! Thanks you for sharing this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Doughgirl8
I've had my eye on this recipe for a couple of years now, and finally got around to making it. The flavor is great—I'd never baked with mahleb before. I didn't like working with the dough, though. I found it to be greasy and sticky, almost like braiding cookie dough. I think that the next time I make this recipe (and I do plan to make it again) I'll try bread flour instead of all-purpose and use the method for mixing brioche: letting the dough mix and the gluten structure form before adding room temperature butter, a tablespoon or so at a time, until fully incorporated.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Gabsmom
Oh this bread was delicious! I found mahleb at Amazon.com believe it or not. I halved the recipe and used all butter (never ever margarine at my house) and got two large, tender braids. I liked it best fresh from the oven, but DH enjoyed it lightly toasted with honey butter. Thank you so much for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 May 2011
Reviewed by: Cgregb
Most excellent. Not too hard to make. I make 6 loaves not five. Hardest part is remembering how to braid! Really flavorful. Really good! Use less bread flour or the max normal flour. Forget the margarine, use all butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes