My Reviews (49)

Coconut Easter Egg Nests

These are so cute and are also easy enough for small children to help prepare. Use candy-coated Easter eggs or different coloured jelly beans to decorate nests.
Reviews (49)


11 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: fennel
Confectioners coating is a product, a chocolate substitute made without cocoa butter. Makers can't sell it as chocolate because of the missing ingredient, so termed confectioners coating. It eliminates the need for tempering, making it easier to dip, or coat items, like the 'birds nest'. It is less expensive then real chocoalate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: SWEETNOTHINGS
I made the nests with the usual rice-crispy square recpipe with added coconut and green coloring - much more appetising than a hunk of coconut and ohhh so cute!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: sarahiswright
I loved these! They were adorable and earned me the name "Martha" at a party. I used white chocolate chips which worked perfectly and they were really easy to shape into nests. I filled them with mini pastel jelly beans before they cooled completely just so they'd "stick" in the nests better. These may turn into an annual tradition!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
My grandmother made these every year for Easter baskets when I was a kid. I'm so glad I found this recipe on AR. These are so cute and very easy to make. I use petite jelly beans for inside the "nest".
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Mallinda
I think these are better for "cute" appeal than taste appeal. They're okay in taste, but their "cute" rating is high. I doubled the recipe and had to put the mixture back in the microwave for about 15 seconds part way through making them, to keep it soft enough to shape. Don't squish the mixture together or you'll lose the rough nest look.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: BIRDIE73
My mother used this recipe for years.She used the coconut or chow mein noodles its a matter of personal preference. Also Merkins chocolate if available in your area melts wonderfully, and you can usually already find green, though you might try the food coloring for a lighter shade.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
Every year my SIL has Easter dinner at her house. She always hosts a huge Easter Egg Hunt for the kids. I told her about this recipe and we got together and made a bunch of these for the Baskets that we'll be hiding.They went together so easily....and of course we had to snitch a couple...they were delicious. Thanks for a wonderful idea, Carol. Russell Stover markets something similar looking, but they are very costly to buy for a large crowd. These were easy, delicious and inexpensive to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Jill Bates Nerney
Easy to make and so cute! I used white chocolate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Momof2
Too cute, but the kids didn't like the taste as much as I thought they would. Great for decoration. Might try again next year. Thanks for the post.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2000
Reviewed by: dkafford
really quick -chocolate bark was expensive - I think next time I would buy plain white chocolate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes