My Reviews (52)

Bread Machine Rye Bread

It doesn’t take much to create this wonderful rye bread in your bread maker with this recipe that includes cocoa powder for a rich colour.
Reviews (52)


Comment:
14 Jul 2008
AKAGERAH said:
Altered ingredient amounts. did not use caraway. Had nice light texture, good flavour and nice crust. Served it with corned beef and was a hit. Will be making it again.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: JEANNE ROBERTS
This was my first try at rye bread in the bread machine......wow! .....this rye bread is the best I've ever eaten!
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: BILLEILEEN
Great taste, but I had trouble in the bread machine, had to remove and knead myself for proper mix. Came out great
 
24 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: NancyPerry
I used this recipe as a guide to make my bread. I omitted the treacle and caraway seed, used wholemeal instead of plain flour, olive oil for my vegetable oil and less brown sugar. I removed the dough from my bread machine once kneaded and put it in a loaf tin instead, with chia seeds on top. Another idea is to use the dough to make small bread rolls instead.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: BEACHES28
This was a great bread, especially if you are trying to watch what you eat but still want to have great bread to eat
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: KATRINA55
This is an excellent recipe! Turned out very moist & delicious. Will definately make it again..probably today!!
 
16 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: AKAGERAH
Used dark molasses and did not use caraway. Had nice light texture, good flavor, and nice crust. Served it with corned beef and cabbage and was a real hit. Will be making it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: BEACHES28
This was a great bread, especially if you are trying to watch what you eat but still want to have great bread to eat
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: JEANNE ROBERTS
This was my first try at rye bread in the bread machine......wow! did I pick a winner.....this rye bread is the best I've ever eaten!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: raven
This was the third loaf I've made. First from scratch. used the bread maker: MODs to INGREDIENTS * 1 tablespoon vegetable oil (Used Cold Pressed Olive Oil) * 2 cups all-purpose flour (used Organic Whole Wheat Flour) * 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder (left this out) * 3/4 teaspoon caraway seed (left this out) Result: Success Nice sized loaf. Dark Brown. Heavy and moist. Crumbly. Texture is like cake - almost like fruit cake. Slices fit the lunch meat well. Flavor is "intergalactic". I wonder if the "cakieness" is because I used: a. whole wheat flour b. a whole packet of yeast 2 1/4 tsp rather than 2. c. Olive Oil d. Due to the ratio of Wheat flour to Rye flour
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes