My Reviews (12)

Watermelon Bowl Fruit Salad

In this salad the watermelon halves are used as the bowls for a mix of fruits. For a dinner of four each person gets their own salad!
Reviews (12)


15 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: SPICYMARIKA
What a great idea! I used fresh pineapple, and cooled the salad before serving. Refreshing and full of vitamins!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: BJ from GA
Cutting the watermelon is a challenge to be sure, but the flavor of cold watermelon and the great presentation is so worth it. Add a little mint and a dash of salt give it a brighter flavor. I left out the bananas, as they tend to get a little too mushy for my taste. Great, refreshing and delicious fruit bowl. B.J.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 May 2008
Reviewed by: jolyn
Its hard too cut the 'watermelon bowl'... maybe just put in a bowl...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Christina
Wow, this brings back sooooo many memories! I remember my mom making this for pretty much every summer function. She never added the apples or bananas tho, but she did add honeydew, cantaloupe and strawberries. You really could use any combination of fruit that you like. The watermelon 'basket' makes such a pretty presentation.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Catty
If you want a smaller version to sit on many tables, do the same thing with 1/2 of a fresh pineapple.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Ericka
Very nice recipe!!!! I love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: grampnana
Left out the bananas and made in large bowl to divide for DH to take to work. Wonderful hot weather treat to help keep him cool. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: The Native Cowgirl
Excellent and refreshing summer salad. I make this a lot!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: LoveToCook429
It was good, but needs moar watermelon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: hb*brat
I used a large watermelon and had asked my husband cut it into a basket for me! He did a wonderful job and it is such a pretty presentation at any summer party. I also used cantaloupe, grapes and honeydew instead of apples/bananas [so easy to adapt to your favorites]. I had shredded coconut next to it as sprinkles. It was a definite hit at our party.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes