My Reviews (1,641)

Oven Baked Potato Chips

An easy healthy way to make chips (or wedges) for fish and chips or with burgers or just for a snack.
Reviews (1641)


07 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Kelburg83
Nice and easy. Kids really enjoyed them.
 
30 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: krazee
Potatoes shrank substantially. Paprika improved the appearance drastically. Overcooked once 1 hour reached.
 
12 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: dolittle7
Quick, easy, tasty. What more can you ask for?
 
16 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: BandE
Incredible fries! Important -- bake at 400 degrees, for 40-45 minutes, and turn at least once during the baking. If you use the 450 degrees in the recipe, the fries will burn. I mixed everything in a gallon size ziploc bag. For the spices, I used freshly minced garlic (no onion powder), paprika, cumin, cayenne pepper, and chili powder. I used 6 potatoes (4 russet, 2 sweet) and 1/3 cup oil. Delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: The Bunny Chef
Mmmmmmmmm!!!!! These french fries were wooooonderful!!!! I cut the potatoes into sticks like normal fries and then baked them for 15 minutes, turned them over, and baked for another 15 minutes (the whole time at 425 since they're thinner than wedges), and I must say these are the tastiest fries ever! I also added salt and freshly ground pepper and garlic salt, and didn't measure it out- just kinda put on as much as looked good, and wow, were they tasty! I think the chili powder was what really put them over the top, so don't be shy with it, and remember that seasonings seem to lose some of their flavors when baked (which means put on more than you usually would)!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Miya
This is a great recipe! The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is because it needs the tweaking that other posters mentioned: a little salt, lower temperature (400degrees), less cook time (30min), and they need to be turned 1/2way through. Thanks for posting this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Serena
These were phenomenally good! Quick and easy - and much tastier than the frozen variety. Cooking time and temperature will vary greatly on how thick you cut the wedges. I followed the recommendations of others and reduced the cooking time and temp to 425°F. However, after 30 min it was not ready. I had to increase the temperature to 475°F in order to ensure they would be ready in time for dinner. So, if you cut your wedges small and thin - you will need to cut the temp and cooking time. But if you cut true (thick) wedges - follow the recipes directions (although I strongly encourage flipping the potatoes halfway through the process). For a super easy cleanup - I poured the oil and spices into a gallon size Ziploc bag and mixed it all together until well blended - then I added the cut potatoes and kneaded and shook the bag until all the potatoes were well and evenly coated. Then poured it into a 9x13 glass baking dish lined with foil. Minor adjustments: I used paprika, garlic powder, salt, freshly ground black pepper, a pinch of chili powder - mine is exceptionally potent, and cumin)... The second time making this recipe I added fresh minced onion - and that was a very tasty addition too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: Lois Lane
These were actually pretty good, but I only give this recipe 3 stars since the time & temp are way off! Too hot & too long. I had to play with it a lot to save them from burning. Next time I will try them at 400 degrees for a half hour, and turn them halfway through.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: SHIFFLEE
I'm a college student, which means that I don't have a lot of supplies or ingredients on hand when my tummy starts a'rumbling. But this recipe is really easy, and can be made even if you don't have all the ingredients. What I did was cut up a bunch of potatoes into wedges, put them in a Rubbermaid box, poured a little olive oil over them, sprinkled them with garlic powder, salt, pepper, and red pepper then shut the box and shook vigorously. When the wedges were evenly coated, I put them on a cookie sheet and stuck them in the oven. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: ROSCOMAC
FOR THOSE WHO THINK THIS RECIPE TOO BLAND: Take one onion for every 3 potatoes. Cut it in half lengthwise and cut it into slivers. Take all ingredients, including the onions, and put them in a zipper bag. Knead and shake until ingredients are thoroughly mixed. Proceed with recipe directions. The onions add quite a bit of zing as well as nutrition!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes