My Reviews (16)

Traditional Bread & Butter Pudding

This is out of my mum's recipe diary, it's a favorite for cooler months although she would make it year round. It's delicious and although some include sultanas - I've left these out because I don't like them. If you do add them - sprinkle them in-between the bread before you pour on the mixture.
Reviews (16)


26 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: mishsquishfish
Possibly my pan wasn't big enough but I found 1L of milk was too much. Making it with fruit bread instead of adding sultanas. It's in the oven now so hopefully it'll be delicious!
 
23 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: 2Piggy
 
28 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: hgold
Easy recipe. Did enjoy the sultana's (and I HATE sultana's), they gave the recipe a better flavour. Second time around I put strawberry jam on one side of the bread and honey on the other side, also added mixed-spice in addition to the nutmeg. Gave the recipe much more flavour.
 
29 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: dinkymum
I thought this was great recipe. It was refreshing to find something not loaded with sugar, I felt good giving this one to my kids. I found a sprinkle of Sugar on top when it came out of the oven gave the little boost in sweetness it needed. I too found 1litre excessive. I had 2-3 cups left over. My dish may have been smaller as well, but if I used bigger, it would have been all custard and very little bread. But over all, very nice, very tasty and the best part, healthier than other recipes!
 
31 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Eliza1
Not the greatest b
 
23 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Abbe01
Try using coconut instead of nutmeg to put on top of the pudding, and perhaps sprinkle a little extra sugar on the bread before pouring over the custard mixture. Very tasty.
 
25 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: ecatt
So easy to make, but not sweet enough so I added more sugar, and put mixed spice on top, rather than just nutmeg.
 
07 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: ValerieIllien
LOVELY DISH NOW A FAMILY RECIPE
 
11 May 2017
Reviewed by: JustPeachy
Delicious and easy. Great to use with stale bread before you throw it out. Feel free to change the ratio of ingredients where you like. I wonder whether this would work with yoghurt? I tried a French Toast recipe a while ago with yoghurt instead of the egg mixture and it was great.
 
12 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: SukiKuran
My nan and i make this all the time but instead of old bread we use fresh white bread we dont think that grain works out well and either nutmeg or cinninmon sprinkled on top either one is good
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes