My Reviews (96)

Basic Stew Dumplings

Dumplings are a fantastic addition to soups and stews for a little more heartiness. You can add any fresh herbs you like.
Reviews (96)


06 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: DAWNCANDACE
This was a great recipe. I used more water, about 3/4 of a cup in all and used butter and olive oil. I also added seasonings like others suggested: onion powder, garlic power, pepper and oregano. They were delicious, but ended up tasting a bit like olive oil. That was ok, just be mindful of that if you are going to substitute olive oil for part or all of the shortening.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: copswife123
After reading the reviews on this recipe I decided to give it a shot. I increased the water like a lot of other reviewers had suggested (it ended up being almost 1 full cup) and made my dough in a food processor as done by another reviewer. In the end these were excellent dumplings. I will definitely make again and would suggest to anyone to give it a try.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: SabbathLily
My first attempt for any type of dumpling and these were fantastic. Light and fluffy with the right mount of chewiness. Easy too! A big hit with my family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: amy
These are truly the perfect dumplings! They are SO easy to make and so delicious! It definitely requires more water than the recipe calls for ~ just put little by little until the flour mixture is moistened. I have made them with butter, and by replacing half of the butter with olive oil and they turned out just perfect either way. They are the perfect all around !!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Earlene-Von Bacon
VERY SIMPLE & EASY RECIPE! THANK YOU FOR IT. MY FAMILY HAS LOTS OF ALLERGIES SO HAVING A RECIPE THAT DIDN'T CALL FOR EGGS WAS GREAT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: JT
Very easy, and yes, just like Mom used to make. I had to increase the water also, to not quite 3/4 cup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Cathy T.
Wonderful!!! They taste delicious. I have a dumpling recipe I have used for years and wanted to change things up a bit this is now my new recipe that I will use for dumplings great
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: mommieof6
These are very much like the Cracker Barrel dumplings that are served there...very dense. Easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2009
Reviewed by: CESAW897
These were so good! I took a leftover Costco rotisserie chicken carcass with most of the darkmeat and skin still attached and boiled it to make my broth. Stuck it in fridge till next day and strained out all the chicken parts and separated the good meat. Reheated broth and tossed meat back in. When it was at a good simmer I added the dumplings. They thickened the broth beautifully. The best Chicken & Dumplings we've ever had. You must try it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: dixiechickbs
These are fantastic dumplings. Traditional and old fashioned - not at all like the puffy bisquick dumplings. I made these substituting the salt for garlic salt. I did need to increase the water to about 3/4 cup. Rolled out just fine and cut nicely. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes