My Reviews (96)

Basic Stew Dumplings

Dumplings are a fantastic addition to soups and stews for a little more heartiness. You can add any fresh herbs you like.
Reviews (96)


Comment:
23 Feb 2011
chaarlotte said:
Used different ingredients. i used self raising flour instead of plain. found that my dumplings rose much better with s.r. good recipe. my mum said she will use it all the time noww.. thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
11 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Jodi Hargis
Excellent dumplings! When I pinched off the dough I rolled the dough into balls then dropped them in! These were fabulous in my beef stew and so incredibly easy to make! Thank you so much for the recipe I will definately use it over and over again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: jason
This is how dumplings are supposed to be made
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: roselover2
This recipe is just the way my Grandfather made them, but in those days lard was the thing. As for those silly city girls, these dumplings are NOT supposed to rise, hence the All-Purpose flour. Only the Self-Rising flour will make them rise. Hope this helps.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
ECHO1272 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Loved these!! The recipe is great, although I found that I needed more water in order to get the dough to 'hold' together. I also added some pepper and my family loved them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
21 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: BETHYB_1
Good basic dumpling recipe. But I had a lot of problems getting the dumplings thin enough which made them a little tough. But, still a good recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: KJPALMER
I love these dumplings! They are so easy! I have made them many times and always get compliments. People can't believe that I made them myself! Thanks Pat!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Deborah Mickey Kissell
made this for ham pot pie and my husband said these dumplings was the best he ever eat. He loved them and i should print this recipe and use it always. They turm out thick and doughy like we love them. Perfect. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: BGTWINMOM
Pat, Thank you for such a simple and delicious recipe! I have always had trouble making dumplings but had to try again. The dumplings came out great! A cross between a noodle which I liked even better. My whole family ate them up. I do suggest you roll them as flat as possible unless you like a thick noodle.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: mommaof4
These were just what I was looking for, a flat, doughy, noodle-like dumpling just like Grandma used to make! Excellent in my chicken and dumplings. Used 3/4 cup of water, butter instead of shortening, and I threw it in my food processor to make it easy to mix. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes