My Reviews (40)

Avocado-lime prawn salad

This easy prawn salad contains no lettuce. It's perfect for barbeques or as a light dinner on its own. The lime gives it a nice tangy kick.
Reviews (40)


04 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Laurin
I have some suggestions to make this a five star recipe. The suggested "kick" needed is not the perfect dressing, but is, instead, the perfect blend of spices-- garlic and a little cayenne pepper or diced jalapeno. For those who wish to marinate more then 15 minutes, wait to add the avocado until just before serving, otherwise it gets soggy. And if you want to marinate overnight, there is no need to cook the shrimp at all, as the lime juice will do so. I sauteed the shrimp lightly with olive oil and a bit of Cajun spices, then added all the ingredients plus garlic, cayenne pepper and a bit of red onion. Then I marinated it for an hour. My husband and I spent a year in Baja MX and Central America and we ate all versions of this dish, so we have tasted it all! He had two helpings and finished his plate. This version is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: redbudval
This recipe was absolutely fabulous. I made it in November, so the tomatoes were not the best, but it still came out fantastic. I used a yellow bell pepper for color, I think red would go well too. Use the lime juice like the recipe calls for and let it set in the refrigerator for more than 15 minutes (I left it overnight). Allows the flavors to blend. Everyone in my wine class loved it. I can't wait to try it again with home-grown tomatoes next summer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: TheToastOfTheTown.com
Since I love all the individual ingredients (avocado, shrimp, pepper, tomato, CILANTRO, etc) that part was yummy. However, as much as I like a nice salad with EVOO, lime juice, salt and pepper, I found the same boring on this shrimp salad. As the submitter says in her heading, trying a favorite salad dressing might work. The base ingredients are great... finding the right dressing combination could make it a five star recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: ChicCook
I was surprised how great this was even without any oil in the dressing--there's something about that lime juice and avocado together. Definitely let it sit for at least 15 minutes (I left mine for a few hours) because the flavors really come out after it's "rested" for a bit. I will make this again for sure. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Charity Villalpando
I made this tonight & it was delicious. I went to the store & got home & realized that I did not have all the veggies that I needed so I improvised. 1st I boiled the shrimps w/old bay & onion & garlic. I thinly sliced the onions, cubed the avocado & cut the shrimp into bite size pieces. I then squirted fresh lime juice over the top. I let it set for about 15 mins, the kids could not wait to eat it. It was a HIT!!! Everyone loved it, even the hubby!! I cut my avocado too small, so it kind of made it like a dressing because it was all smashed. Next time if I make it for a group, I will keep the avocado pieces bigger. This dish was even better a few hours later!! My hubby said to add cucumbers next time. Next time, I'll try and add the tomatoes. Mine are still green in the garden.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: alohaidaho
My 17 yr old son found this recipe in a magazine and used jalapeno peppers instead of the green peppers. He removed the seeds, but it still had a nice kick to it. We served it with some seared scallops and it made a wonderful summer meal. Its like cerviche, so it would be good with tortilla chips too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: MSBHAVENOKIE
This by itself is goob but if you mix it with low sodium V8 juice,hot sauce, and celery salt, and worshestire sauce for a nice shrimp cocktail. Serve with crackers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Shera
Recipe was perfect as is. Many different ways to kick it up as others shared. All were great. I even had to use frozen shrimp once. Make sure they are thawed and dried with paper towels before adding.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: chrondsey
I added thinly sliced persian cucumbers, fresh corn and pineapple. I cooked the shrimp with green onion, jalepeno, butter, lime juice and pineapple. Amazing! The pineapple makes it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: bluebutterfly0606
This was a wonderful summer dish. Perfect for lite simple meal. I added little extra lime juice and a cucumber for the perfect dinner salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes