My Reviews (87)

Christmas Star Biscuits

These sandwich biscuits are ideal for Christmas but they're good anytime. Use your favourite jam in the centre.
Reviews (87)


18 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: chrisoz
A good recipe taste-wise but the dough was too moist to roll out. Had to add a lot of flour and still wasn't able to roll it out thin enough to liking.
 
15 May 2009
Reviewed by: oOoOLivOoOo
Very Yum!
 
09 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Anne Norman Hastings
I did not make these cookies but wanted to offer a tip on cut-out cookies. Roll them out on parchment (or a cookie sheet), cut them and REMOVE THE EXCESS dough. That way, your cookies will retain the shape because you're not handling them. Remember to make the cuts with enough room between them to bake properly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: SUGARREI
I've been making these cookies for a few years now, and everybody demands them from me at Christmas time. Even though I've thought about 'retiring' from this exercise because it means torturous sessions toiling in the kitchen like a sweaty elf, I can't, simply because the results and the awed looks it generates from other folks are just that good! They're so gorgeous that really, they should be known as America's Next Top Cookie. One little thing I've learned is to keep the dough as cold as possible when rolling - even if that means keeping your kitchen window/door open. Another tip: cut the small star (the one that goes in the center of half of the cookies) once you've placed them on the cookie sheet. It's a lot easier to pry the excess centre dough with a small knife that it is trying to transfer the hollowed star shape onto the sheet intact. Finally, I use red and green decorator sugar to give it a more festive look - this year I'm going to try some icing sugar too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Lindy505
I made these for Christmas, and everyone enjoyed them. I made them again for Valentine's Day, using heart cookie cutters. I used seedless raspberry jam for the filling and everyone really liked them. One suggestion: I tend to make thick cookies, (I like them that way) but this recipe you need to keep them thin because, remember, you will be stacking them. My Christmas batch I made too thick, but the Valentine batch I made thinner and were great. Good recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Michele Bart
Very yummy. Didn't have star cutters so I used a glass to make round cuts and mini Christmas cutters for the center cut (mitten, tree, candy cane). They came out looking great (just like ones I've seen sold thru Williams Sonoma). AND they tasted fabulous. Used raspberry preserves.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: manna0683
Easy to make and delicious! I sifted some powdered sugar on top instead of the sprinkles. I also found that if you work in small batches to keep the dough really cold they are easier to work with. If you put the cut outs on a parchment paper lined pan an place the pan in the freezer for a few minutes before baking, the cookies will hold their shape better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: celestialcharms
Yes, it is alot of work, but the results are impressive. It took me 2 batches of broken stars to take heed of a previous reviewers suggestion of using parchment paper. After that change, making the cookies was a breeze. A few of my stars were renegades and became slightly mis-shapen. To correct that, I made a pointsetta looking cookie by placing the top cookie slightly askewed from the bottom one and dusted with powdered sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: courtneynoel
Very good recipe, but I didn't do the sandwich style. I made a dip in the middle before I baked them with a teaspoon and then put the jam in once they were done. I also doubled the recipe and froze some of the dough and still ended up with 88 cookies. So if you need cookies for a big crowd...you will get a lot! Great recipe! Will definately use it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Tikvah
This is a fantastic recipe -- they looked so beautiful that no one would believe they were homemade! I never made any modifications to the recipe -- the dough was very easy to roll and transfer to the cookie sheets -- I only wrecked ONE cookie!! (I followed another reviewer's advice and did the center cut-outs AFTER the cookies were on the pan.) And it may just be me, but I found the dough handled best after it had warmed up a bit. Thanks for sharing this recipe; it's a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes