My Reviews (333)

Vegetarian BBQ Mushrooms

Looking for a vegetarian barbecue? Portobello mushrooms are your answer! These meaty mushrooms are great served on top of crusty bread. Melt cheese over them and top with wild rocket for a filling meal.
Reviews (333)


21 Sep 2000
Reviewed by: crideout
This was a big hit at our house. My husband said it tasted like grilled steak and asked for seconds. That's the highest rating you can get from him.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: COOKING44
I can't wait to try this recipe again. I did something very wrong the first time I tried it, and the vinegar was extremely overpowering. Nobody could eat them. I think I added too much. Next time, I'm going to omit it altogether, I think. But, I've had mushrooms grilled like this, and I KNOW they are delicous. I just have to figure out what I did wrong.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: LAURILAN
Good easy recipe for tasty grilled mushrooms. I grilled them and made sandwiches with mozzarella cheese, mayo and roasted red peppers on a toasted whole wheat roll. Used 3 tbsp balsamic vinegar and that was definately enough. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: JLG94
I made this last night- it was so good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: indygirl915
I think this could be very good, but there is WAY too much balsamic vinegar flavor when following the recipe. The mushroom was very tender and all the other ingredients made gave it great flavor, but it was almost unedible with all the vinegar. I will probably make them again with 1/2 the amt of balsamic vinegar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: RAY570
OMG! I went totally rogue w/ this recipe - sorry. I used olive oil instead of canola and white balsamic vinegar and ended up marinating these for 3 days b/c I got sidetracked. I sauteed them over med-high heat and they are the best mushrooms I have ever tasted. I'll be using them in a frittata with feta and caramelized onions tonight.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: abiah83
I totally changed up this recipe! I used Olive Oil instead of canola and cut the oil in half! I also cut the balsamic vinegar down to about 1 TBS per recommendation of others!. I added 1TBS of Soy Sauce, 2TSP of Ume Plum Vinegar (adds tang and saltiness)added 1/2 cup lemonade and a half tsp of Worcestershire sauce. I also took the stems from the mushrooms and chopped them up and added them to the Onions. I did not add any salt or pepper! I grilled these for around 15 minutes to make sure that the onions cooked through. These were absolutely amazing! We had them for my grandma's 90th birthday and everyone ignored the lamb and went straight to the portobellas. Not a bite left on anyone's plate!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: CELESTINE50
very quick and easy to fix.delicious and a big hit at my last family cookout.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Joan
Yummy! I was short on time. So I made the following adjustments. I poured some olive oil directly on each mushroom. Then I followed that with some balsamic vinegar poured directly on each one. Then I sprinkled garlic powder on top and added sea salt and black pepper. I let them sit for about 30 minutes before putting them on the grill. They were done in 8 minutes on the grill and were delicious. We ate them burger-style with a slice of provolone cheese melted on top, a slice of raw onion, and a slice of tomato. Perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: BRTW
Thank goodness I read the reviews because the full amount of balsamic would have killed this. Use half the amount called for at most.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes