My Reviews (16)

Apple Shortcake

I have given so many people this recipe - substitute any fruits for the apple and if you don't have time to pre-cook it - just slice it finely and then add a little more sugar if it is a "tart" fruit (rhubarb, granny smith apples, some types of stonefruit, etc). Quick, easy, and foolproof! Great to bake in the oven whilst the main course is cooking.
Reviews (16)


Comment:
25 Jun 2011
farmyard said:
Altered ingredient amounts. doubled the ingredients & cooked it in a large slice tin, when cool cut into serves and froze, took out as many pieces as needed, thawed on bench a couple of hours. Delicous served with cream.
 
02 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: JillyT
This is such a good recipe for quick and tasty use of fillings that are on hand (fruit, fruit mince, lemon butter etc). Can be used as a slice or desert.
 
Comment:
26 Nov 2012
Suzy54 said:
this Is a fantastic receipt I have made it about six times in the last month. I have also double the receipt when I had eight people for dinner, worked well.
 
Comment:
25 Jun 2011
farmyard said:
 
13 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: GinaRodgers
great recipe! have made it about 5 times using apple/pear, pie apricot, nectarine and also rhubarb and apple.. deeelish!
 
23 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: Karen54
This is a marvellous, economical dessert recipe for family and good enough for a dinner party for friends. I tweeked it a bit though by creaming the butter and sugar and adding some vanilla essence to the dough mixture. It makes a lighter texture. I also added about a teaspoon of grated lemon rind to the fruit mixture. Definitely a winner and a keeper!!
 
19 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: emrocks
I used peaches instead of apples seeing i didn't have any, but it still tasted great
 
Comment:
02 Mar 2011
JillyT said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Used 3/4 cup sugar instead of 1/2.
 
09 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Sconebonbon
I loved this recipe. It was easy to make. And tasted amazing. Will remake time and time again.
 
16 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: deeplytense
I left out the spices (because I was distracted) and it was still lovely. will definitely make it again without the spices but I think I'll lower the sugar too.
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes