My Reviews (11)

Easy Lemonade Scones

In my family, we love scones with cream and fresh strawberries, but they're great with butter and jam, or anything else you want to try.
Reviews (11)


01 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: tcornaga
Having lived overseas, I noticed something that might trip up most Americans with this recipe; 'lemonade' is known as Sprite or 7up in the states (or anything similar). The carbon dioxide helps the scones to raise.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: boobook
I'm not surprised that people had problems with this recipe. I'm an Aussie, and I can tell you that you need 4 cups of Self Raising flour to 1 cup each of cream and lemonade. A pinch of salt helps bring out the flavour, also make the scones smaller so they cook through properly. Then the recipe will earn more stars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Snip
I actually quite liked these scones. I followed the recipe to the letter. The dough was quite soft and sticky, but using the extra flour for dusting solved the problem. The final scones were large, suitably fluffy and delicious served hot with strawberries and fresh cream. They were not very sweet at all - the sugar in the lemonade was just enough for them to not taste savoury... But that is the way British scones are meant to taste. A lot of the flavour is meant to come from the filling you add, rather than the actual scone being sweet. I will definitely make this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Norwich02
This recipe should read 3 C SELF RAISING FLOUR. If you use this and have some flour to add if the recipe is too sticky. Then it is quick and works. light fluffy. All the flops are because there was no baking powder in the recipe. Trust me I use the recipe with self raising and get asked for the recipe all the time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: littleone101
yep these are great...I think any American may not get the whole scone thing...it's meant to be the equivalent of a biscuit but whats for sale labelled scone in the states is like a little muffin usually....easy and great with jam and cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: MONICA397
I followed recipe. I used 7up as per one reviewer and these scones...word used very loosely...were awful. They were bland, flat and very tasteless. Don't waste your time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: afemisme
I have made these scones several times , the only thing I did was used soda water rather then lemonade as personally I found it very sweet. If you like sweet then you will get plenty from the cream and jam you put on them
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Lucas Lisa Fenton
This recipe is a flop! The dough was too slack- I had to add an additional cup of flour to make it the right consistency. It needed sugar in the recipe as well. I made these to take to a brunch...and had to leave them at home, they were so bad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: BlondeMamba
Ugh! These didn't cook properly in the middle, were too flat and burned on the top !
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: JOANMS
I am going to try this recipe. I was going to pass over it, but then saw the five star rating by a previous viewer. Using Sprite or Sprite makes since. I am looking forward to trying the recipe. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes