My Reviews (16)

Caramel Slice

Shortbread base, a caramel layer and a dark chocolate topping-the classic Caramel Slice. Make sure you cut this into slices before the chocolate fully sets or the chocolate will crack while you're cutting.
Reviews (16)


Comment:
13 Aug 2010
candyfreak said:
Altered ingredient amounts. The first time I made these, my Aussie husband said they were good but that the caramel layer was not thick enough and the other two layers were too thick. So now I make half recipes of the top and bottom layers. This solved the problem. Also, I add a Tablespoon of butter to the chocolate when melting. Makes it easier to cut and to eat but still firms up nicely. I have made these several times now and notice that I get slightly different results with different brands of sweetened condensed milk. I'm lucky to be able to get Golden Syrup here! Ann from Carbondale, Illinois, U.S.A.
 
Comment:
23 Jan 2009
aussiegal78 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Caramel layer- Way to much butter. Should be 3.5 Tbsp and the above = 8.5 tbsp. I could not get the cond. milk and butter to combine and after following above instructions exactly the butter, syrup and milk part separated. I then went and bought Caramel squares, melted them down with a little milk and used that. Also added a little vegetable shortening to the choc layer so it would cut better.
 
17 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: zoewardle
made these for my son who has a nut allergy and he loved them, they lasted a day in my house. lovely
 
Comment:
07 Mar 2011
Shesho97 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Way too much caramel, i almost died of sweetness
 
13 May 2010
Reviewed by: AussieCath72
I followed the recipe exactly without any issues at all and my family DEVOURED this one. (I am back to make another batch 2 days later) Don't forget to cut while chocolate still soft - easy!
 
07 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Shesho97
Wow, this was amazing, i made it so many times! A little bit less caramel and chocolate would really make you appreciate the flavors. x
 
13 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: candyfreak
So happy to find this recipe (I've added a tweak). Whenever we're in Australia (my husband is a Sydney native), we have them for tea as often as possible. Am now spreading caramel-slice-love in the U.S. midwest.
 
12 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: jillperth
Had great difficulty in making this, it took 3 attempts before I managed to get a good result.. mostly my own fault tho. I cut back the butter in the base, and cooked it for a shorter time. Also didnt cook the caramel for long on the stove top, only until it heated through, about 4 mins. I found if it cooked for longer it turned to sugar! Oven cooked the caramel about 10 mins, which was plenty. Keep and eye on it, or it will harden too much around the edges. Dont forget to mark the chocolate before it sets...
 
29 May 2010
Reviewed by: dennismum
Fantastic recipe, eaten very fast in this house!!
 
02 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: christine21
disgusting! Worst caramel E V E R !!! DO NOT use anywhere NEAR that amount of butter! The butter separated and even after pouring the butter off it was still a disaster! Yuk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes