My Reviews (78)

Barbecued Zucchini Mini Pizzas

This is a great use for those giant zucchini that appear on your zucchini plants while your back is turned! Or, alternatively, you slice smaller zucchinis lengthways. The slices become a mini "pizza" base that you can cook on the barbecue.
Reviews (78)


04 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: krisco81458
These were excellent. What I did is broil each side for 5 minutes after I brushed them with the garlic butter sauce. Then I added pizza sauce, mozzarella sauce and pepperoni and baked at 400 for aprox. 12 minutes. I will be making these again soon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2014
Our grill crashed right before we could make these, so we did them in the oven! 450, 10 minutes each side, then top with toppings. We also remade this recipe with Johnsonville Italian sausage added - YUM. Thanks for sharing!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: Lexaloo
Great idea! I had all the basic ingredients, but had to improvise with this one. Instead of grilling, I baked it. Instead of tomato sauce, I put a Creamy Vodka sauce. Instead of Mozzarella, I added Parmigiano Reggiano. It was still pretty darn good. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: emilyyhoffman
As a college student, I don't own a grill, so I baked them at 375 for 10-15 minutes. I had a smaller zucchini, so next time possibly less butter. Otherwise, it turned out great. My roommate and I devoured these.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: AUDNJAKE
We were under attack from an abundance of zucchini in the garden this year. This was a delicious way to use it up, especially the really fat sections of the zuke. Another reviewer had stated they had a problem with the seeds, we didn't have an issue with them. They grilled up and softenened along with the rest of the slice. The whole family enjoyed them multiple times this fall. Thanks for a great idea!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: dcevy1210
I followed Beth's directions and sautéed, then baked it since it was pouring down rain w/thunder&lightning outside. Delicious and a great way to use up all that extra zucchini!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: Paige
I was surprised at how much I liked these. I don't have a grill so I sauteed them in 2 tablespoons butter and the garlic before baking them in the oven at 400 degrees. Instead of pizza sauce I used fresh sliced tomatoes from my garden. They were fantastic when I was just trying to use up an oversize zucchini.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: Ginny Bowers
I followed this recommendation below. I subbed spaghetti sauce for pizza as that was what was available and it was really good. I absolutely loved these! I would modify the recipe slightly though. There was too much butter, and I even cut down the amount that was called for in the recipe already. It just needs a very light coating of butter to keep it from sticking. I also added Parmesan cheese, pizza seasoning, & a pepperoni on the top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: coconutheather
Delicious and a great way to use up zucchini. Definitely easier with an extra large zucchini. I had medium sized ones, so I cut them long wise, and grilled them that way. Made it a bit harder, and messier on the grill, but the taste was still great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: kate
so we ended up baking these instead of grilling but they turned out great! added some extra pizza toppings including pepperoni, mushrooms, and peppers and onions. easy and delicious way to use my giant zucchini!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes