My Reviews (8)

Deep Fried Hot Dogs (Pluto Pups)

If you've got a deep fryer you can easily make your own Pluto Pups (or Dagwood Dogs...depending on where you grew up) at home. You can use vegetarian hot dogs as a substitute.
Reviews (8)


Comment:
29 May 2011
Hazza101 said:
Used different ingredients. I used Savloys & no sugar with some spices insted. INCREDIBLE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Comment:
29 May 2011
Hazza101 said:
 
13 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Tanaquil
The crust was really good! You have to keep turning or they burn easily. Thanks for the interesting lunch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2012
Reviewed by: godchic
these are so good! I chose to make them a little healthier. I baked them in the oven. Heres what I did: 1.mix everything expect oil, wood stick, and hotdogs (use only 8 hotdogs) . Follow step2 . Cut hot dogs into thirds. 2.Spray cup cake tins with non stick sprayor line with paper lined muffin cups. Scoop batter into the cups . Place 1/3 hot dog into each muffin. 3.Bake at 400 ° until golden brown. Serve right away.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: yrvngrl
these snacks are really good. they are easy to make and they taste incredible. try it out, you wont be able to stop eating them. what do you have to lose?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: T Roos
These were quite good! I'm not a fan of cornbread so I was looking for a battered hotdog recipe that didn't have the corn bread batter. For this, I didn't have any self rising flour, but it worked fine with just using all-purpose flour. Everything else I left the same. I just wanted to use one package of hotdogs so I changed the yield to 8 and there was still a little batter left over. I ended up cutting the hotdogs into 4 pieces and skewering them with toothpicks. The batter was a little runny so I had to add about an extra 1/4 cup of flour to thicken it and I also dipped the hotdogs in flour before dipping them in the batter. that really helps the batter stick fairly well to the hotdogs. I will definitely make these again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: prattbratt
If you are wondering what Pluto Dogs taste like, I can describe it in Texas terms...it is a fried kolache , that looks like a corn dog.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: camohn
these came out great.Daughter and husband both really liked them. I used Lil Smokies and made mini dogs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes