My Reviews (78)

Banana Buttermilk Pancakes

Excellent egg free pancakes, the bananas and buttermilk give body, moisture and taste. Easy to make and they disappear quickly!
Reviews (78)


Comment:
09 Aug 2010
isobel said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Made it dairy-free - used soy milk and mashed the bananas.
 
25 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: cadmangaz
easy , very tasty
 
09 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: isobel
These pancakes taste great. I was a bit skeptical at the beginning but you wouldnt really know they had no egg/dairy
 
16 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: JOSIE
This was a nice pancake recipe Sara. I used all white flour and had to skip the buttermilk since I was out. In it's place, I used an 8 oz carton of plain yogurt mixed with enough milk to make 1-1/2 cups and added about 3/4 of a cup of canned pumpkin along with some pumpkin pie spice. I also added a splash of vanilla extract to give it some extra flavor. I made "mini" pancakes for my kids to nibble on and got quite a few from one batch. They were very dense and tasted healthy with the bananas and pumpkin mixed in. Thanks a bunch for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: ashy17
I love the basics of this recipe. However I do make a lot of changes. Instead of using A.P flour I use all whole wheat. I also, mash the bananas before adding to the mixture. Then I have to add more milk and about 1 tsp of vanilla and some cinnamon. I make my own buttermilk also. Then while cooking, I add frozen raspberries. They turned out delicious. I've made these twice now and will more than likely make them again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2002
Reviewed by: ASHORES
Great recipe - easy and low-fat, but tastes luscious. Even my DH (not a whole-wheat kind of guy) loved them. Add frozen blueberries for added taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2006
Reviewed by: Susan
New favorite pancakes over here. It's amazing they can be so fluffy and tender without the eggs and fat. We don't usually have buttermilk on hand, so I sub with vanilla yogurt thinned with skim milk, and add half a tsp baking soda. I also mash the banana and add it to the liquid, along with vanilla and cinnamon, and brown sugar. Thanks Sara - this is a family favorite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
25 Jan 2010
vickie said:
Used different ingredients. Added a touch of cinnamon to half of the batter. Both were lovely
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
03 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Robin B
Probably will not be making these again. I have found that using wheat flour (while healthier) makes pancakes a bit chewy. Also, chopping the bananas left little banana chunks throughout the batter - the husband did not care for this. Perhaps I should have beat the batter - I just stirred it with a whisk. Overall, buttermilk pancakes is preferred over this banana version.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: vickie
served these banana pancakes for breakfast and they went down a treat. I wouldn't have imagined they'd be so easy! Will definitely make again
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes