My Reviews (20)

Beef and Capsicum with Gnocchi

This is a tasty dish that never fails to impress. There's nothing subtle about it; its a hearty meat, capsicums and tomato pasta dish. Enjoy!
Reviews (20)


27 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Dianemwj
My husband and I loved this dish! I didn't have a flank steak, so I used a flat iron steak and I pan-fried it first and then cut it in strips. I wanted it rare, and I was afraid that the strips would over-cook. The instructions read: "simmer until the sauce thickens". There really wasn't any sauce to speak of from one can of tomatoes, so I added some V8 juice to create some. I increased the amount of paprika too: 2 tsp sweet-and-smoky, and 1 tsp of hot paprika. But that's just personal preference. This dish was scumptious. DH had two helpings at dinner and then ate the leftovers for breakfast this morning. A real keeper. Thanks, Jayda!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: COD3ELF
I thoroughly enjoyed the gnocchi (never had it before); however I found the recipe as followed to be a bit bland. I added a bit of butter to the olive oil for the saute and added some Merlot to make more sauce. I will make it again, but I will definitely "BAM" it with more spice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: DIZ♥
No doubt this needs salt ‘n pepper, but sometimes it is possible to rush things and this is one of those times. The quick cooking process doesn’t allow the flavors time to come together so the end result is very bland. I tossed everything back in the skillet (minus the gnocchi), added a little water and let it simmer with a covered lid for about an hour. The added cooking time really enhanced the flavor making it more like a pepper steak and the meat was nice and tender. If I were doing it over, I would start by browning the meat, add all of the ingredients except the gnocchi and simmer in a covered pot for at least an hour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Deborah
Not crazy about the gnocchi, would try broad egg noodles next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: kjw11
Great tasting dish. I followed the recipe but substituted or omitted a few things using what I had on hand. It turned out great and can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: thrillz37
i loved it this was my first recipe that i have actual did by myself but it was great i changed it up a bit i added cayenne pepper instead of the paprika for a little hot zang and i couldnt find the gnocchi so i add a differnt pasta but other then that it was great i loved it thanks for the recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: James & Janneen
Very bland. Will not make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Tim et Kim
kind of bland. according to the recipe it makes 4 servings i found it to be more like 8 servings.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: addj_chase
Gnocchi is such a bland pasta, I was looking for a good recipe to help liven the taste. This dish did not do that. It wasn't terrible, I'm just realizing gnocchi isn't the easiest or tastiest pasta to work with. Though, this recipe would probably work great with tortellini
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: stacydross
We really enjoyed this dish. Thank You
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes