My Reviews (1,586)

Spaghetti Squash with Feta and Olives

This recipe calls for spaghetti squash which resembles pasta when it is scooped out. It's a great vegetable dish.
Reviews (1586)


17 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: SammyCooks
This is agreat dish! Too inprove the spaghetti squash's tenderness, just put it in a baking dish close to it's size and add 1 1/2 cups of water for the same baking time and it will be wonderfully soft and perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Linda Robinson
My boyfriend and I had never had spaghetti squash, but as he said, I would give it a 10 star if I could. I am not a fan of squash at all.... but this was so good... All the right blends of veggies. I didnt have fresh basil, used less of the dry basil, also sauted veggies in olive oil , and depending on the size of squash might take longer then 30 mins, i just did the knife test, and knew it needed more time, so added 15 more minutes on.Had a medium size one and well there wasnt any left overs. I had a bowl and bf had the rest, he loved it.. So hats off to the chef who made this a keeper in our house. I also added grated parmesan cheese on top after it was served, yummy we love cheese and a loaf of fresh bread to go with it is a meal in it self. This would go great as a side dish for the parmesan tilapia fish , that I also found on here. That too was good. I love to cook and have found so many good recipes on here, this is at the top.... go figure and I thought I hated squash.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: LISCAS
I wanted to add a P.S. to my rating. The next day I added some beaten egg and bread crumbs to the leftovers to add substance. I formed the squash into round patties and breaded them with bread crumbs. I then browned them in Canola oil and they were sooooo delicious. My boyfriend loves this recipe and he loved what I did with the leftovers too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: PUNKROCKWIFE
We love this in our house. But I've modified it a little to better suit our tastes. Firstly I just put some puncture holes in the squash and throw it in the oven whole to bake -- it's much easier to cut when it's cooked and it's just as delicious. I also skip the olives and onion to give it a fresher less complicated taste. Lastly I use grape or cherry tomatoes, they're just nice and managable.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: JOANN74
We really liked this new way to enjoy spaghetti squash. I did do some things differently. I microwaved the squash, both halves on a paper plate, skin side for 5 min. and open side covered with paper towel for 6 min. and it was done perfectly. Using suggestions from others, I sauted red pepper and onion together, added one can of Italian style tomatoes, undrained, and ripe olives. Tossed it all together and tried to save enough leftovers for next day lunch :o). It was really super, thanks James.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Wendy Womack
I enjoyed this dish, but was surprised by the taste/texture of the squash. I read the reviews but for some reason was shocked that the squash 'noodles' were actually crunchy. The taste is pretty neutral, so not offensive. I gave it four stars because I feel that I just need a few more tries to get mentally adjusted to using these instead of real noodles, but once I get adjusted, they are just so much better for you than all those heavy blood sugar spiking real noodles, and makes the homemade garlic bread easy to justify! You don't feel as heavy and bogged down and your meal is 500% healthier.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: pjlee123
I had a half of spaghetti squash left over from last night and i can only do the spaghetti squash once in awhile for my DH as he is not a real lover of it. SO to allrecipes I went to look for something to do with the rest. I took all the ideas on the reviews and recreated a cold salad with using similar ingredients. Scraped out the SS and added EVOO, just a couple of dashes, and then diced half a red pepper and 1 tomato and a half cucumber (seeded) Tossed in some scallions cut on the bias and 2 cloves of garlic and about a small can of black olives, salt and pepper, Then about 1/2 cup of feta and some snips of fresh basil from my garden along with some fresh tarragon. Cant wait for dinner! Samples were divine! ps I always punch holes in my spagetti squash and then do in the microwave. Let cool, slice and seed. Will try the cooked version in a cooler season. Thanks James!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: ELENITSA
DELICIOUS!!!!! Love spaghetti squash but needed new receipe. Easy to make. Used kalamata olives and sauteed the garlic and onion in butter with the olive oil. Tried it also with chopped fresh spinach. Will definitely make again. EXCELLENT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: lindsey
By far the best and most surprising dish i have made from this site. It's amazing how much the squash tastes like noodles, in fact i prefered it. It was very nice to not feel guilty for eating pasta. I used 2 garlic cloves and left out the olives because I had none in the house. I'm going to make this for my squash hating boyfriend next weekend.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: PYTNPLACE
Definately a dish you can be creative with. No fresh basil so used dry basil and added fresh Italian parsley. Oregano or sage would be good too. Used olive oil and a little salt and pepper. Great fall side dish. Can be made ahead. Reheat in microwave then add cheese, olives and herbs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes