My Reviews (46)

Baked Delicata Pumpkin with Garlic

Simple, healthy and tasty - pumpkin is baked with olive oil, fresh parsley and garlic. If you don't want to peel them first, simply slice in half lengthwise and scoop out the seeds. You can serve this hot from the oven or at room temperature.
Reviews (46)


18 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
Delicata squash is so beautiful with its variegated colors that I thought it a shame to peel and slice it as the recipe directs. So I cut it in half lengthwise, then baked it cut side down in a little water in a shallow roasting pan - 375 degrees, about 25 minutes. I then drained the water and returned the squash to the pan, cut side up. I filled the cavity with melted butter I had infused with fresh, minced garlic, and freshly ground pepper, then gave it a sprinkle of paprika for color. I returned it to the oven for another 5 mintues, then sprinkled it with the fresh parsley. I served each plate with an unpeeled half and it was SO pretty! I love squash, both summer and winter varieties, but had never had delicata. Hubs, on the other hand, doesn't really care for it - until now. We found this to be similar to butternut or acorn squash, but drier, not as sweet and with somewhat nutty undertones. We both loved it and, to my surprise, hubs said he wants to go back to buy three more!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Melanie Booth
This was very nice, i used butternut squash instead of delicata, and added 1/2 tsp of dried rosemary and the same of paprika. Lovely!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: MDH192
Deilcata squash is about 8" long with a pretty consistent ~3-4" diameter. It is shades of white, yellow, and orange. It has grooves running down it (like a pumpkin), and there is typically green in the grooves. I got mine at a farmers market, but have also seen it at the grocery store. I DID use delicata squash for this recipe, and I found it to be very bland and boring. It tasted like squash, oil, parsley, and garlic -- which makes sense. But it wasn't in a great, "Oh, that's really simple but really good!" sort of a way. Will not make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: JUSTINEHERRERA
I used 1 butternut squash instead of the delicata. it was DEE-LISH! I almost ate the entire dish by myself!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: magrit3
First time using butternut squash and this couldn't have been easier. It tasted delicious as an accompanying vegetable.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
22 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: luvmyskeins
Delicata Squash...delicious! I sliced it in half lengthwise, scraped out the inside, sprayed with PAM, peeled 8 cloves of garlic (next time 4) put 4 cloves under each delicata half and roasted at 375 for about 45 minutes...when done took out of the skin, mashed with the garlic & added salt, pepper & butter...DELICIOUS!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: jendavison
this is SO GOOD! Used one delicata, 5 cloves of garlic and enough olive oil to coat, and I didn't have parsley but I used fresh rosemary, along with some salt and pepper. VERY tasty, I will be making this again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Shana King
Fiancee loved it, I'm not too big of a fan of squash but it was better than other recipes I've had. I also couldn't find Delicata squash at the store so after reading that Delicata tastes like a butternut and a sweet potatoe combined that's what I did! I used one butternut squash and one sweet potatoe. I also mashed and whipped them at the end to blend them together better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: csiroko
This was super easy and extremely delicious! It was my first time working with squash and I was amazed at how little work it took to make it taste so good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
24 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: rebeccal
Delicata is definitely my new favorite squash after cooking this (and this is from a non-squash lover). For our small family, I made only one squash, used 2 T of the olive oil, 3 cloves of garlic (we love garlic), a good amount of the parsley, and added sea salt and black pepper to taste. I roasted mine in a cast iron pan, stirred twice during cooking, and pulled it out when it was golden brown on the sides, which was at about 25 minutes. Fabulous.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes