My Reviews (240)

Spicy Prawns Wrapped in Bacon

This is such an easy thing to throw together at the last minute when you need something for a crowd, it is great finger food or even great as an entree.
Reviews (240)


10 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: henfeather
I've prepared a similar appetizer that involved making a small cut down the back of a large or jumbo peeled shrimp and inserting a slice of mild jalapeno pepper before wrapping with bacon. I've found that by winding 1/3 of a bacon slice, starting at one end and finishing at the other end to achieve a single thickness, the bacon has a better chance of cooking adequately and evenly. To cook, I heat the oven temp on the broil setting, add the wrapped shrimp, cook for 2 minutes, turn the shrimp over and broil for another 2 minutes, then turn the oven off and allow the shrimp to finish cooking as the temp gradually decreases. By the time the shrimp begins to turn pink, the bacon will be cooked.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: NJSS2000
These are fantastic~ I wish I would have made more. A guest at our superbowl party ate two and he is allergic to shrimp, but he said they are soooo good. I used pre-cooked bacon and it was perfect when I baked it for 10 minutes. Will be making these again for other get togethers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: KARIMGARZA
I love shrimp, and I loved this recipie! I added McCormick's Montreal Steak seasoning and the shrimp tasted great, everybody liked them. I bought giant shrimps and its better than the restaurant because I can eat as much shrimp as I want for less money. Thanks Jan
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
I don't know if it was the bacon, or "Johnny's Grub Rub," also from this site, or both, but this was just spectacular. We partially cooked the bacon in the microwave to make sure it was cooked through without overcooking the shrimp. We also found that since the shrimp we used were the 21-25 count that they needed to be in the oven just nine minutes, so watch the cooking time carefully. I served this with Green Rice III and it was a match made in heaven. Words are inadequate to describe how delicious and beautiful this was.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: ROKMELON
Just some tips for anyone who hasn't made this yet...don't use thick cut bacon! LOL! I cooked the bacon in the microwave for 2 minutes before wrapping the shrimp and it just never got crisp. Next time I'm going to try again with thin cut bacon This is a RICH food and even though it didn't come out the way I expected, it was still very delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: deano
I have a similar recipe where I dip the wrapped shrimp in a chipotle BBQ sauce and place them on the grill...simply awesome! And for added zip, I added a strip of jalepeno pepper along the back of the shrimp before wrapping it. This last touch had everyone raving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: JOLSEN
This dish is fabulous! I served with dirty rice and cornbread and my husband could not stop raving! I used the precooked bacon you can buy in a box at the grocery store and everything turned out just right. Thanks Jan!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: Ramonda Clayborn
Next time, I will slightly pre-cook the bacon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: PAULA HARPER
I substituted BBQ sauce instead of the BBQ seasoning; everyone loved them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: mrspaws
This wasn't a very informative recipe. More of a technique. If you're going to say it comes as close as your favorite restaurant version, then please tell us what is in your BBQ seasoning and how much you used. "BBQ seasoning to taste" doesn't tell anything. Was it sweet or spicy? A rub? A sauce?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes