My Reviews (28)

Mushrooms Wrapped in Bacon

Mushrooms and bacon make a lovely pair. It can't get simpler than this recipe. Use toothpicks to hold the bacon in place while cooking.
Reviews (28)


19 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: ALBIE
This is a great recipe that I use all the time but, the mushrooms are always best if you marinate them in some sort of marinade. I prefer to use italian salad dressing. Let them soak in this for at least 4 hours before cooking. These can also be cooked on the BBQ grill. I also always use 1/2 strip of bacon per mushroom.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: VORCHA
Precook the bacon to the soft stage before using, otherwise it never really gets crisp. I removed the caps from mine and added shredded cheddard cheese in the cap and garnished with chives right before serving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Momof2
I make this when I make the Bacon Wrapped Shrimp from this site...I also precook the bacon (about 1/2 way). I add some crab/cream cheese stuffing to the caps and then bake...delicious. Thanks for the idea.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2009
Reviewed by: Tia the Baker
Like others recommended, I marinaded the mushrooms (I used teriyaki sauce) before wrapping them. I also baked the bacon for about 15 minutes at 400 degrees F before wrapping the mushrooms, otherwise it wouldn't have cooked fast enough. Others suggested using only 1/2 a strip of bacon per mushroom, but I used a whole strip - depends on mushroom size. I got rave reviews on these!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2006
Reviewed by: RMACHELETT
I wrapped my bacon all around mushroom and inserted toothipick to hold both end of bacon on mushroom. My dh made a garlic butter sauce (melted butter added garlic) he also added some worchestire sauce which really brought out the flavor.....EXCELLENT it filled us up for the day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Janet Grella
these were very good. But I have to admit I did not follow recipe exactly. I did stuff 'shrooms with a cream cheese sundried tomatoe mix that I blended in my processor first. then filled my mushrooms. Also, I did par cook my bacon first. They were excellent. Great "starter" recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Snaps
These are a great treat that alway disappear quickly at gatherings! They are also great cooked on the grill! The bacon gets crispy and you get that great grilled taste in both the bacon and the mushroom! Keep a close eye on them as the grease can cause flare-ups...usually a little foil with some holes poked in it helps keep that to a minimum and makes them less likely to burn.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Sevenne
These are great, and ridiculously easy: perfect for simple hor d'oeuvres or party nibbles when your busy preparing other items. Just be sure to drain the mushroom-water off when they come out of the oven!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Alice
Prepaked the bacon 1/2 as others suggested. I also stuffed the caps with walnuts and cheese then wrapped the bacon. Thank you Blake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Kathy
Like some other readers, I marinated the mushrooms in low sodium Teriyaki sauce for several hours. I used fat free cream cheese spread with some garlic and onion added to it. Par cooked the bacon prior to wrapping. Delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes