My Reviews (54)

Mashed Turnip with Bacon

Boiled turnips are mashed with butter, garlic, fresh pepper and crispy fried bacon. This makes a very delicious vegetable side dish in place of potatoes.
Reviews (54)


14 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: GINGERCAT1
Very tasty. I used some white purple-topped turnips, and turkey bacon instead of regular. Lots of flavour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: NEWFS2BOXER
Great side dish, not only for your Thanksgiving feast, but for your fall dinner parties. Turnip lovers and non-turnip lovers alike returned for seconds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
Thanksgiving wouldn't be the same without this wonderful dish. My husband LOVES to make this and I certainly let him as he feels he "owns" it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Jenniferdori
A very tasty way to make turnip. I cooked it ahead and froze it, leaving out the bacon bits, which I fried up and froze separately. On the day, I warmed the turnip in the microwave and crisped up the bacon bits on the stove, then stirred them together. Everyone, even those who do not usually like turnip, liked it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: MNIST
This is the recipe my Mom used! I'm so glad to find it again. Thanks so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: SHAROFSKI
I'm not a very big fan of turnip, but my husband is so I made this for him. I think I liked it as much as he did! Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Laurie P.
GREAT! I think this is the state veggie in KY, everyone grows them & gives them away, & I'm always looking for a new way to cook them. Thanks a ton!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: CM0722
I don't eat turnips, but my sweetie does. He says this is delicious (even tho I forgot the garlic powder) - will include it next time, and he will like it even better! A great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: JDAVIS3662
Four out of five family members liked this dish, and the fifth is one of those picky eaters. It was easy to prepare. We are not big turnip eaters but someone gave us a ton and we had to do something with them, and this was it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Koneri
Delicious. Will definitely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes