My Reviews (29)

Water Chestnuts Wrapped with Bacon

These little nibbles are perfect finger food for Christmas morning and very easy to make. You could also make them with peeled roasted chestnuts.
Reviews (29)


27 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: GEL751
These are excellent appetizers, but I soak the water chestnuts in a mix of soy sauce and brown sugar, then wrap the bacon around them and bake or broil them. They never last long in my house.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: BRANDI1277
This is much better with the sauce - its called Rumaki. You take 1/4 c soy sauce, 2 tbsp packed brown sugar, 1/8 tsp ground ginger and 1 clove crushed garlic - mix it all together and marinate the water chestnuts (we also use chicken livers)covered, in the refridgerator for 2 hours. Then drain the marinade and wrap the bacon around the water chestnut and chicken liver - secure with toothpick, and bake 25-30 minutes, until the bacon is crisp. My mom used to make it all the time - they are great! I have also had it with the "BBQ" sauce of ketchup and brown sugar - its good as well, but you really have to start out with this base marinade.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
Some people enjoy a sauce made of ketchup, mustard and brown sugar for dipping.Without the sauce, this seemed not as flavorful.Thanks Robyn.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: kelliegirl21
I love making these for Christmas brunch! But one change , and its wonderful this way....Buy the huge or largest dates that you can buy. Fill each pitted date with a water chestnut and then wrap them with a strip of bacon and broil til just cooked ! They are GREAT! They are gone before any thing else so make lots !! Be sure you use LARGE Dates! Enjoy ! God bless you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: Kim
These are easy, different, elegant, and everyone loves them! Great holiday tradition to start!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: CATHERINE C.
These are very tasty! I made them for St. Patty's Day and both my daughter and I liked them. I used whole water chestnuts, next time I think I will try them with sliced water chestnuts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: LYNAYAL
This is a great recipe but I put barb-q sauce on them before cooking them in the oven. It really enhances the taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2003
Reviewed by: KAILASMITH
My mom use to make these all the time when I was a kid. They are so good and I dont really like bacon too much! Try them- you'll like them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: ANNASCHUBERT
They were very crunch and tasty, a friend recommended a home made barbaque sauce (ketchup and brown sugar). I did not make it, but it sounded very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: SHORECOOK
CRISPY & CRUNCHY! I used 1/2 pkg. of regular sliced bacon with sliced water chestnuts. I placed 2-3 slices of chestnuts in each bacon roll. Very tasty! Thank you Robyn for sharing your recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes